Monday, September 30, 2013

Name Before the Masses Tour & Giveaway for Ulterior Motives by Chandra Ryan

Join Chandra Ryan on her Name Before the Masses Tour for Ulterior Motives from August 12 – September 30, 2013, presented by Goddess Fish Promotions.  Please leave a comment or question for Chandra to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter her tour wide giveaway by filling out the Rafflecopter form below.  You can also follow her tour here

Ulterior Motives
by Chandra Ryan
Universal Defiance,     Book 1 

Publisher: Ellora's Cave Publishing, Inc.
Release Date: July 3, 2013

Genre: Sci/Fi - Futuristic Romance
Length: 78 Pages

Add to Goodreads

Book Description: 

Universal Defiance, Book One

On a rural settler planet, Kat must resort to putting out an ad to find a husband. She doesn’t expect to find love—that’s a dream in these parts—just a partner to help work her ranch. Then the devastatingly handsome Jasper answers her ad and turns her on in ways she never dreamed possible. Too bad he’s not who he says he is.

Jasper doesn’t know what he’s getting into when he ventures undercover to investigate a legal claim against Kat’s ranch. But after a toe-curling night under her roof and in her bed, he’s willing to do anything to stay there. He can’t say no to the tough-as-nails businesswoman who makes his body come alive.

When people start getting hurt, though, both Kat and Jasper have to decide how valuable one piece of land is. And the ranch that brought them together might be the very thing standing between them. 

Buy Links:  Ellora's Cave Amazon B&N ARe Kobo 

Excerpt :

“Excuse me, sir.” Her calm words broke through the chaos of the port station and gained his undivided attention. This close to him, staring into his rich, brown eyes, her stomach began to churn with nerves. She quickly pushed through the sensation, though. She didn’t have the time for silliness. And it was the height of absurdity for her to be uncomfortable around her soon-to-be husband. “I’m Katarina Maxim. My friends call me Kat.”

She held her hand out to him in casual greeting as she tried not to fidget. She’d debated how to greet him as she’d driven to the station. A kiss seemed rather forward. But she did want him to feel welcomed. A handshake seemed like the best idea at the time. Now, as she waited for him to take her hand, she started second-guessing herself.

“Katarina, that’s a lovely name.”

She noted that he’d called her Katarina but tried not to let that color her first impression of him. She didn’t hate the name nor did she hate being called by it. It just didn’t fit her. Not anymore. Katarina sounded soft, delicate—refined, even. Like she’d been before her family had moved here. She could only hope that he didn’t see her as any of those things. If he did, he would be sorely disappointment when he got to know her better. “Kat. Only my mother called me by my full name,” she pressed.

“Kat it is.” His smile seemed genuine but his palm was as soft as new leather when he finally took hers. If he stayed, that would change. This planet demanded calluses and blisters. Her hands were proof of that.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Being from a rather nomadic family, Chandra Ryan loves to travel and meet people. But she’s found that sometimes, like when you’re stuck inside because of a good old-fashioned Southwestern heat wave, you have to make do. Fortunately for her and her loving family, who don’t like seeing her suffer from cabin fever, she’s found creating new people and places equally as fascinating. Also, you’re a lot less likely to spill your ice tea.

Web site:

Twitter: @ChandraRyan


My Review

A fan of science fiction or futuristic romance, I was intrigued by the concept of off world ranching in the future.  Looking forward to Chandra Ryan’s Ulterior Motives, the first book in her new Universal Defiance series, I was both pleased and a little disappointed.  A little different than my usual type of review, I’m going to break down what does and doesn’t work for me in this book.

What Works:

The characters – I liked both Kat and Jasper.  I found Kat a hard working woman determined to be a successful rancher and looking for someone who could be both her partner and husband.  While she’s not looking for a hot romance, she does want to have a real marriage that works.  While Jasper initially arrives at Kat’s ranch under false pretenses, he’s hard working, believes in people having a fair chance and intends to help Kat with a problem she wasn’t aware of.  He’s also easy on the eyes and I totally understood why Kat was attracted to him.

The Romance – Both lonely and sensing the other has something they need, Kat and Jasper are immediately attracted to each other and their quick romance works.  They have plenty of chemistry in and out of the bedroom.

The Conflict – The reason Jasper has come to Kat’s ranch “under cover” is pretty important to the story and the mystery of who is behind the problem is very well done.  I was seriously surprised when the “villain” was revealed.

What Doesn’t Work:

The Sci/Fi-Futuristic World Building – I think part of the problem with the world building was the short length of this book.  I really feel that if the story had been expanded that Ms. Ryan could have really given her story more depth.  There was almost no development of the “off world” part of the story, it really could have taken place anywhere ….. including modern day Montana.  I was also a little disappointed that the animals were regular animals, I was looking forward to some kind of exotic non-Earth type animal, but alas they were just regular cows.

The supporting cast – we only meet a couple of people in the story besides Kat and Jasper.  I think it would have been nice to meet more people so that we could get a feel for this newly developed planet.

Overall, I did enjoy this book and look forward to seeing where Ms. Ryan takes us next.  If you’re looking for a quick lunch time off world escape, give this one a try.

My Rating:  4 out of 5 Stars

FTC Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book as a part of a book tour in exchange for fair and honest review.  I received no additional compensation for my opinion of the reading material provided. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Melissa Schroeder's Tease Me Release Party - Day 1


Hello, everyone and welcome to my seven day blog tour!!! Seven days of different prizes and fun about my new series, Semper Fi Marines!

Everyone who read The Santinis knows about the Johnson brothers. Hardheaded but softhearted heroine MJ, from Leonardo, has three brothers, all Marines, just like their dad. Tease Me is the first of the novellas featuring them.

by Melissa Schroeder
Semper Fi Marines, Book 1

A man who thinks he has what he wants.

Bran Johnson always knew he wanted to be a Marine. What makes it even better is longtime gal pal TK is now stationed at the same base. Unfortunately, Bran is having a hard time dealing with his feelings when he realizes that TK is considered a hot commodity on base. Worse, he finds himself taking a backseat to her admirers.
A woman who always wished for more.

Tess Keller has loved Bran since they were in high school. The former football captain always treated her like a friend so she tried to move on. Unfortunately, he’s in her business constantly now. One passionate argument leads to more than either of them expected. Tess knows it isn’t going to last because Bran is never going to settle down. So, to save face, she suggests they stay friends, only with the side benefit of being sometime lovers.
A Marine determined to win at all costs.

Bran agrees to the friends with benefits idea just to keep himself close to Tess. She might think he’s not around for the long haul, but this is one Johnson brother who knows exactly what he wants…and just how to get it. And what he wants is Tess in his bed and in his life forever. Nothing will stop him, not even Tess herself.

Buy Links:  
Check out the Trailer 

Want to know more? Check out the FB page for Semper Fi Marines and The Santinis.

From an early age, Melissa loved to read. First, it was the books her mother read to her including her two favorites, Winnie the Pooh and the Beatrix Potter books. She cut her preteen teeth on Trixie Belden and read and reviewed To Kill a Mockingbird in middle school. It wasn’t until she was in college that she tried to write her first stories, which were full of angst and pain, and really not that fun to read or write. After trying several different genres, she found romance in a Linda Howard book.

Since the publication of her first book in 2004, Melissa has had close to fifty romances published. She writes in genres from historical suspense to modern day erotic romance to futuristics and paranormals. Included in those releases is the bestselling Harmless series. In 2011, Melissa branched out into self-publishing with A Little Harmless Submission and the popular military spinoff, Infatuation: A Little Harmless Military Romance. Along the way she has garnered an epic nomination, a multitude of reviewer’s recommended reads, over five Capa nods from TRS, twelve nominations for AAD Bookies, winning both Most Accessible Author and Author of the Year, and regularly tops the best seller lists on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. She recently had her first USA Today bestselling book, The Santinis Collection.

Since she spent her childhood as a military brat, Melissa swore never to marry military. But, as we all know, Fate has her way with mortals. She is married to an AF major and is raising her own brats, both human and canine. She spends her days giving in to her addiction to Twitter, happy her husband is finally retired and they are living where the bugs die in the winter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Friday, September 27, 2013

Virtual Book Tour & Giveaway for Moria's Time by Dayna Leigh Cheser

Join Dayna Leigh Cheser on her Virtual Book Tour for Moria’s Time, presented by CBLS Promotions from September 25- October 18, 2013.  Please leave a comment or question for Dayna to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter her tour wide giveaway by filling out the Rafflecopter form below. 

Moria's Time (TIME Series #2, Sequel to Janelle’s Time)
Historical Romance
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Release Date: August 15, 2013
Heat Level: Steamy
Word Count: 103,300

Add to Goodreads


Janelle Grayson is distraught over a troubling vision. Old Agnes MacKendall has seen her infant daughter, Moria, as a young woman, years in the future, traveling afar to a perilous place, fraught with danger.

Janelle and her husband, Richard, are both concerned about the vision. They decide to do all they can to prepare their precious little girl for what likely lies ahead for her. It’s a future charged with risk the likes of which, for the unprepared and ordinary person, could spell certain doom.

So begins Moria’s Time—Book 2 of the TIME Series.

At six-years old, Moria starts to learn about her heritage. Like her mother, Moria is a MacKendall. The women of this Scots clan have unusual powers including, among many other skills, natural medicine—which Janelle soon discovers is Moria’s special and strongest gift. Richard agrees with Janelle that she should train Moria, focusing on, and nurturing, her rare strengths in preparing for her future. By the time she’s a teen, Moria is a talented natural healer.

At fourteen, Moria meets Elizabeth Blackwell who befriends and mentors Moria, guiding her through the long and arduous journey to her goal of becoming a doctor. 

Later, while visiting family in England, Moria meets Florence Nightingale—who will figure significantly in her life in the future. The family also meets Queen Victoria and Prince Albert.

Later, Miss Nightingale summons Moria to London, where she works at a charity hospital and meets Dr. Simon Hensley.

Moria becomes one of the first 38 nurses bound for Scutari, Turkey with Miss Nightingale. Dr. Hensley, in love with Moria, follows her, much to her chagrin, but she’s skittish—about men, relationships, anything and anyone that might distract her from the challenge of being a woman daring to want a career in the male-dominated field of medicine—and, so … she rebuffs him.

At home for a visit, Moria is overjoyed to reconnect with her twin sister, Adelle, and meets her beau, Walter. He and Adelle convince Moria that Dr. Hensley isn’t the enemy. He may well be the one to protect her from the men she fears. Back in Turkey, Moria and Dr. Hensley work things out.

Simon and Moria return to London after the war. At Devonwood, the Grayson family estate, Moria’s Grandmother convinces Moria can marry Simon and not endanger her future. Simon proposes; Moria accepts. The twins plan a double wedding.

After the wedding, Simon and Moria visit medical schools for interviews. Moria is turned away from school after school, simply because she’s woman. Finally, a school in Pennsylvania accepts Moria who graduates at the top of her class.

Does Moria have the right to impose what her needs on Simon? How long will Simon put his life on hold while she pursues hers? Do they really want to open a practice? As doctors, is a practice all that’s available to them? There are so many questions, and too few answers.

Warning: This title is intended for readers over the age of 18 as it contains adult sexual situations and/or adult language, and may be considered offensive to some readers.

Buy Links:  Amazon   B&N    Kobo


Many months have passed since Moria traveled to London to meet with Miss Nightingale.  A lot has happened in her life.
She's home in New Hampshire for a brief visit for her birthday, where she reconnects with her twin sister, Adelle, and meets Walter, Adelle's beau, for the first time.  She tells of her non-relationship with a man who, it seems is very much in love with her.  Walter, not knowing the particulars of Moria's background, wonders why she is so skittish about having a man in her life.

It seems to Moria that she'd always felt this way - that men, in general, could derail her dreams and hopes of becoming a doctor - and, in the 1850s, this was indeed a very real possibility - almost a probability.  As her skill level increased, so too did her mistrust of men, and Walter, being a man and not understanding why she felt this way, wanted to know why.


 “When did you start to hate men?” Walter ventured.

“I don’t hate men.”

Walter chuckled. “You could’ve fooled me.”

“I don’t hate you. I like you, a lot.”

“True, but I’m no threat to you the way things stand. Why do you think Doctor Hensley is a threat to you and your dreams?”

The answer was automatic. “He’s a man.”

Walter threw his hands into the air. “Listen to yourself! You’re not making any sense. Where did you get this idea men are such a threat, anyway?”

That question brought Moria up short. She stopped to think. Where had this obsession with protecting herself from men come from? “I don’t know. It seems like I’ve always … no, wait.” She snapped her fingers. “Elizabeth.”

Adelle took on a knowing look. She explained to Walter, “Elizabeth Blackwell, her long-time friend and mentor, the first registered female medical doctor in both the United States and England.” Walter nodded.

“Yes. Even before I met her, she’d had problems with men in her professional life. Men stood in the way of her admission to medical schools, they stood in the way of her attending classes, they barred her from additional training, both here and in Europe, they wouldn’t hire her to work in their practices or partner with her, they wouldn’t even rent her space so she could set up her own practice.”

“Well now,” Walter said. “And she didn’t give up, through it all?”

“No, she didn’t. She’d promised a dying friend … oh, never mind.” Moria abandoned the tangent and got back on topic. “She’s made some headway. She and her sister, who will graduate from medical school soon, will open a practice in New York after Emily has received further training in Scotland and Europe.”

“But, how did you come to hate, or at least have a strong mistrust, of all men?”

“She and I met when I was fourteen years old. We’ve written many letters to each other, and talked at length in person. Because we are friends, and she’s my mentor, she’s told me of her problems. When I was younger, the challenges seemed to be, at their root, because of men ….” As awareness started to dawn on Moria, the space between her words lengthened, giving her time to think, “… but it’s really because of the system, which, of course, is run by men.” A light dawned. “And, the men feel threatened by the women who are attempting to change the system. So it’s really the men who have the problem with women! We’re more of a threat to them than they are to us! Of course.”

Adelle started to laugh.

“What’s so funny.” Moria eyed her sister.

“It took a man to point it out to you.”


Moria knows that since she - and her misguided obsession about men - are responsible for the state of things with Doctor Hensley, she has to fix things.  When she returns to where they are working, she immediately sets about making things right.  When she presents herself at his office, he's uncertain and is cool and aloof.  But, convinced finally that she's sincere, he quickly warms to her and is delighted she's back in his life again.

About the Author:

My mother, a non-fiction author, two brothers—one as a newspaper editor, the other, a copywriter—and a sister, a church newsletter editor, prove that clearly, writing ‘runs in my family’.  Much of what I’ve written over the years was never published – much of it never shared with anyone. 

My father, a school teacher/reading specialist, started teaching me to read after story-time one night when I was four years old.  I’d stopped him mid-story to ask how he was able to say the same thing every time he read that story to me.  My lessons started that night, beginning a life-long love affair with books—and for that, I am grateful.

The short stories I wrote in junior high school entertained my peers – and the occasional teacher who intercepted them in their travels.  At the high school level, one English class assignment was to write an autobiography.  In the teacher-specified chapter entitled ‘Future Plans’, being a published writer topped the list.  I can’t remember not wanting to write.

After a college professor told me I ‘couldn’t write my way out of a paper bag,’ I stopped writing for years.  It was not until the late 1970s, when I wrote an article for the now-defunct World Radio News (San Diego, CA), that my writing gene was reactivated.  The article was about our amateur radio club providing communications for a March of Dimes Walk-a-thon.  Seven of the twenty pictures my husband submitted with my article were used.

In early 2002, between jobs and wanting to write seriously, I obtained a third-shift position as a gated-community security officer and used the ‘free time’ to write what became Janelle’s Time.  When the draft was complete, it went on the shelf.  At that time, the industry was shifting from the Post Office to the internet – a very confusing time!  In 2009, when I started my Twitter page, @Writers_Cafe, the WIP came off the shelf.  What I’ve learned from my (now) 19,000 followers is prodigious – I feel like I’ve earned a degree!  By August 2011, it was ready—at last—for submission.

@RileyCarney, a Colorado teen, and prolific YA fantasy author, who heads her own non-profit literacy project moved me to write an article about her.  Never officially published, countless people have seen the article, thanks to Twitter retweets and some carefully chosen email inboxes.

On New Year’s Day, 2010, my shiny new blog, A Place for Writers, went ‘live.’  It evolved into a combination chronicle of my writing journey and helpful posts on publishing industry topics.

In the fall of 2011, I added ‘DIY Interviews’ to my blog (see the ‘DIY Interviews’ tab of my website for details on doing an interview).  Not a primary task in the overall scheme of things, over fifty authors have submitted interviews to date.

Janelle’s Time is book one of my ‘TIME Series’ and was published in July of 2012. Book two, Moria’s Time, was my winning NaNoWriMo project for 2011.  It’s now complete and will be released in August 2013.  There are three more books in the series: Adelle’s Time (my winning 2012 NaNo project), Logan’s Time, and Clarissa’s Time (my 2013 NaNo project for 2013).

In September of 2012, I switched from my blog A Place for Writers, and went to a full website:  With thirty+ pages, my new blog, ‘Posts by Dayna,’ is there now, along with ‘DIY Interviews,’ and extensive information about the ‘TIME Series.’ 

My husband, Pete, and I have been married for forty-five years—no children—and have lived in Southwest Florida for over twenty years, originally hailing from New England.

Connect with Dayna Leigh Cheser

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule
Oct 18: Lusty Penguin Reviews (Guest Post/Review)

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Virtual Book Tour & Giveaway for Forbidden Surrender by Priscilla West

Join Priscilla West on her Virtual Book Tour for Forbidden Surrender, presented by Reading Addiction Book Tours.  Please leave a comment or question for Priscilla to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter her tour wide giveaway by filling out the Rafflecopter below.  You can also follow her tour here, the more stops you visit, the better your odds of winning.

Forbidden Surrender
by Priscilla West

Publisher:  Priscilla West
Release Date: August 7, 2013

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Add to Goodreads

Book Description: 

“What gives you a thrill Kristen?”

The minute I saw Vincent Sorenson, I knew he was trouble. Billionaire. Bad boy. And dangerously sexy. He was everything I craved, and nothing I needed.
Unfortunately, I couldn’t just avoid him. The higher ups at my company decided they needed his business, and I was on the team to bring him in. Vincent Sorenson didn’t seem as interested in business as he was in me, but I knew that was a door better left unopened. If I got involved with him, it would only unearth the pain I spent years trying to bury.

I thought I had it under control, but I seriously underestimated Vincent’s seductive charm and silver-tongue. I would soon find out how delicious it would feel to let myself fall into this forbidden surrender.

 Buy Links:  Amazon    B&N  


“Here we are, you can go inside. Vincent’s ready for you.” The receptionist stopped in front of a frosted glass door. The same glass formed a wall that stretched to either side of the entry.

I nodded thanks to her before pushing open the door and walking inside. Silence greeted me. Whatever the glass was made of, it completely blocked the noise from outside. In the corner was a black leather couch with a small coffee table in front of it. A large desk was set squarely in the center of the room, a metal and glass tribute to modernity. It was a stark contrast to his desk in Cape Town.

Vincent stood by the window, one arm behind his back, looking out. He was wearing a navy suit matched with a grey tie and white shirt. His long locks were slicked neatly back. Unwillingly preoccupied with wild fantasies, I nearly tripped on the rug in front of his desk as I walked closer. My pulse danced in my veins and a flush coursed through my cheeks. If I had fallen on him twice, I would’ve died from embarrassment.

Blue skies and skyscrapers along Central Park silhouetted his figure. He looked equally comfortable in a suit as he had in shorts and flip-flops.

He turned around, his dark eyes shimmering. “Beautiful, isn’t it?”

I looked at his chin, chiseled with perfect angles, as if carved from a slab of marble. My eyes moved up to his mouth, his lips full and soft.

I cleared my throat. “Yes, it is. I’ve never quite gotten used to the view. Good to see you again, Mr. Sorenson.”

“Please Kristen, have a seat.” I stumbled to the guest chair in front of his desk while Vincent remained by the window.
I took it as my cue to continue. I set my bag down and reached inside for the glossy documents Richard and I prepared for a follow-up meeting.

Vincent studied me for a moment, his head tilted slightly to one side, as if examining a piece of art. Or his prey. Not knowing what else to do, I unleashed my rehearsed speech. “Thank you for meeting with me again. Waterbridge-Howser will be an excellent choice for your wealth management needs. We offer personal attention as well as products that larger—”

He held his hand up to stop me. “I’ve decided to go with Waterbridge-Howser.” He glided from the window to me, occupying the small space between my seat and his enormous desk. He leaned back and sat on the edge, his crotch inches away from my heated face.

For a moment I forgot where I was or what I was even trying to accomplish. Wait, did he just say he wanted to work with Waterbridge-Howser? I realized my mouth had been hanging open, and I closed it with a snap. Adrenaline surged through my body. I had just closed a big account—this was massive.

“Sir?” I said, ignoring his position so as not to draw attention.

“Please, Kristen, it’s Vincent. I let it slide when you called me Mr. Sorenson earlier, but if you’re going to call me ‘sir’ then I’m going to address you as ‘madam’. Now let’s get back to business.”

Vincent Sorenson, eager to get back to business. The irony wasn’t lost on me, even in my dazed state.

“I can sign the paperwork today, but there’s one condition.” He paused. “You must be my point of contact. I’ll need a number to reach you at any point in the day.”

His dark pupils drew my gaze and I found myself unable to look away. I knew there’d be a catch. “Richard’s usually the one who works directly with clients and I’m not sure I have the authority to—”

His expression implacable, he waved his hand to swat away my excuses. “Get the authority. Your partner is insulting and unacceptable. You’re smart, ambitious, and not afraid to take risks. It’s either you or I walk away.”

I blushed at his compliments, although I wasn’t sure why he thought I wasn’t afraid of taking risks, but I had bigger issues to deal with. Even though this would be an enormous boost to my career, Richard would be offended if I agreed to Vincent’s condition. Not to mention the obvious: I’d be spending much more time alone with Vincent. I doubted his true motives, but there was no way I could turn down this opportunity. I’d just have to figure out how to handle the complications.

I released a deep breath. “You’re certainly very demanding, Vincent.”

“You have no idea how demanding I can be.” His eyes traveled up the exposed skin of my legs as if possessing me with his gaze. I crossed my legs to quell the uncomfortable sensation growing between them.

And there it is again, he can turn it on and off at will. Despite the edgy feeling of being this close to Vincent, I had to admire his ability to make anything sound sexual. If he was willing to sign with Waterbridge-Howser based on the misguided belief he’d get into my pants, I wasn’t about to stop him. I’d just have to keep him at arm’s length.

“Fine, I’ll be your point of contact,” I said, pulling out a business card from my satchel and handing it to him. “My information is on the card, you can reach me at the office during the day. My Blackberry number is available for emergencies as well.” I hoped the emphasis was taken.

“Good,” he said, pausing as though there was something else he wanted to add before gesturing towards my bag. “Do you have the paperwork?”

I handed him the contract.

“Thank you for deciding to go with us. I’m looking forward to working with you,” I said, holding my hand out. He took it and squeezed firmly, the heat of his palm sending tingles up my arm. I didn’t know if I was more excited about landing a huge client or Vincent’s touch.

Without moving from his position in front of me, he signed and dropped the papers on his desk, rather than returning them to me. “Now that we have the business out of the way, we can get to the pleasure.” The last word rolled off his tongue like a satin ribbon, sensuous and inviting.

“I’m sorry?” Heat coursed through my face.

“We didn’t finish our conversation at the bar.”

“I thought we were quite clear,” I said, mouth drying by the second. He wasn’t going to make this easy.

He shrugged. “You made it clear you didn’t like mixing business with pleasure, so I didn’t. The business is done, now it’s time for pleasure.” 

Priscilla West

Priscilla West is the author of the popular erotic romance series The Sandstone Affair and is currently writing the Surrender series. She likes to write stories with sassy heroines and strong but flawed heroes.

She enjoys: cuddles, men in suits, eskimo kisses, life-sized teddy bears, and eggs over medium.

You can find her at 

My Review

A financial analyst trying to land a client, a bad boy surf riding CEO, and their forbidden romance take center stage in Pricilla West’s Forbidden Surrender.  Well developed characters, good dialogue, emotional angst and even a touch of danger kept me turning the pages to discover what would happen next.  Adding just the right touch of sexual heat, Ms. West’s book is a good beginning for her new series.   

A hard working business professional, Kristen Daly is determined to snag CEO Billionaire Vincent Sorensen as a client.  While she doesn’t completely think her boss’s plans on how to snag him as a client will work, Kristen is unprepared for the attraction she feels toward their potential client.  Especially when he makes it clear he’s interested in her in a personal way.

Impressed by Kristen, but not her boss, Vincent Sorensen decides to trust her with his finances.  Stipulating that she’ll be his point of contact, Vincent also makes it clear to Kristen that he’s interested in her for more than her knowledge of money.  Agreeing to her terms is easy, taking the slow approach not so much.

The scenes between Kristen and Vincent are full of verbal and sexual chemistry.  Their mutual attraction is smoking hot but due to their business relationship, they agree to keep things low key and private.  Ms. West does a good job developing their characters; though we get to know more about Vincent and his path to success first.  As we get to know Kristen, we discover there’s much more to her than meets the eye and we learn she’s got a few secrets.

Will Kristen take a chance on surrendering her heart?  Will Vincent agree to take things slowly and earn Kristen’s trust?  Will something from Kristen’s past ruin Kristen and Vincent’s possible future?  You’ll have to read Forbidden Surrender to find out.  I enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the next book in this series to find out what happens to Kristen and Vincent next. 

My Rating:  3.5 out of 5 Stars

FTC Disclosure:  I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a fair and hoonest review.  I did not receive any additional compensation for my opinion of the reading material provided.

a Rafflecopter giveaway