Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Contest Winners- Do Over By Mari Carr



And The Winners Are:

Judy
GiGi

I will be contacting you ladies with your prize later today. 


FTC Disclosure:  Prizes awarded have been purchased by review site.

Monday, October 4, 2010

A CONTEST- DO OVER BY MARI CARR




Sometimes once is not enough...


After twenty-five years of marriage, Faith Wainwright wonders what she'll do next. Her kids have moved out and sometimes she feels so distant from her husband, Troy.

 
Right before their anniversary, Troy gives Faith an unexpected gift: a journey through their hometown to reenact all their "firsts." Their first date. Their first kiss. And especially the first time they made love—only better.

 
Each stop on their tour becomes an opportunity for Faith and Troy to rediscover how explosive their passion can be. Now Faith knows exactly what she's going to do—Troy, over and over again...


This is the very first book by Ms. Carr for Carina Press.  I had the opportunity to preview this book and it is funny, heartwarming and very hot!
 
Contest Rules
 
1. Answer contest question
2. Please leave your name and an email address to contact you if you are
     a winner
3. Two winners will each win a PDF copy of this Ebook by Ms. Carr
4. Contest open to all (International included)
5. Contest will run through Midnight on Tuesday 5-Oct-10.  Winners to be 
     announced on Wednesday, 6-Oct-10
6. Winners to be chosen using Random.Org
 
Contest Question
 
Ms. Carr almost had two books release today.  What is the name of the second book that releases on October 5, 2010 (hint- check her website)
 
Good Luck Everyone!
 
 
FTC Disclosure:  Prize being awarded has been purchased by site owner

Friday, October 1, 2010

Winners- Through My Window Contest



And The Winners Are: 

Cathy M.
Mai

Congratulations Ladies!  I will be contacting you later today regarding format choice.


FTC Disclosure:  Winners chosen using Random.Org
Prizes awarded purchased by review site.





Thursday, September 30, 2010

THROUGH MY WINDOW BY JAYNE RYLON CONTEST- PÉRIODES DEUX


So trying this again....this time when the book is actually released :)

Through My Window  by Jayne Rylon

“Through my window, a sea of strangers swirl and retreat like waves in an ocean of humanity. I brush my hair, fix my makeup and flip on the glaring red light in my booth before turning to face my audience on the other side of the glass.”


For Star, this is another night on the job, though no two are ever alike. Adaptable and perceptive, she becomes many things in the course of one evening—whore, lover, nurse, psychologist and friend. But above all, she’s still a woman. Join her, through her window.


Contest Rules

1.  Answer Contest Question

2.  Please leave your name and email address in your post so that I can contact you if you are the winner.

3.  This contest will run thru Midnight Thursday, 30-Sep-10, with winner to be announced Friday morning.

4.  Contest open to all entries (International accepted)

5.  Two winners will each win one copy of the ebook described above.

Contest Question

What is the name of the book, written by Ms. Rylon,  being released through this book's publisher featuring the hero Mark Rossi? (hint- check her website)


Good Luck Everyone!


FTC Disclosure:  Prizes being awarded have been purchased by the review site.

Saturday, September 25, 2010

CONTEST WINNERS- SATURDAY NIGHT SPECIAL



Congratulations To the Winners:

Drea
Jo Ann

I will be contacting you ladies later tonight to get your format choice.



FTC Disclosure:  Prizes awarded were purchased by review site

Friday, September 24, 2010

Winners of the Jayne Rylon/Snafu at Ellora's Cave Contest


Congratulations to the 2 Winners:

LB Canton (Loretta)
Lauren Fraser

I will be contacting you later today for your format and book choices.


FTC Disclosure:  Prizes awarded purchased by site

A Contest - Saturday Night Special by Mari Carr


Saturday Night Special by Mari Carr  This is the 6th book in her Wild Irish series through Ellora's Cave.  I had the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book and all I can say is that I was blown away by this romantic comedy and that I believe you'll love this story.




Saturday Night Special

Saturday’s child works hard for a living…


What do you get when you cross a gold-digging stripper, a down-on-her-luck hooker, an estranged husband, his knocked-up wife, a Wayne Newton lookalike taxi driver and one beleaguered Baltimore cop?


A typical night in the life of Riley Collins—Vegas style.



Riley’s always been the wildest of the Collins clan, but even she bites off more than she can chew during an impromptu trip to Sin City. Once again, it’s Aaron Young to the rescue. No surprise; Aaron’s been watching Riley’s ass forever—and he’s wanted to spank it for even longer. Tracking her down, Aaron finally gets his wish—after he drags a drunken Riley to a chapel and makes it legit, of course.



To say she’s shocked is putting it mildly. But Riley warms to Aaron’s seduction quicker than you can say “all-you-can-eat buffet!” Who knew her mild-mannered best friend was so hot in the sack? Of course, thanks to Riley’s penchant for picking up strays, the newlyweds will have to sneak in some honeymoon boom-boom whenever they can. But they’ll manage…


Contest Rules

1.  Answer contest question.

2.  Please be sure to leave your name and email address so that I may contact you if you are the winner.

3.  Open to all who choose to enter.

4.  Contest will run through Noon on Saturday, 25-Sep-10.  The winner to be announced by 5 PM CST.

6.  Two winners will win one ebook copy of this book, choice of format will be the winners.


Contest Question

Have you read any of the Wild Irish series yet and if you have, which has been your favorite book so far?

Good Luck Everyone!


FTC Disclosure:  The prize being awarded has been purchased by the review site.







Thursday, September 23, 2010

SNAFU AT ELLORA'S CAVE CONTEST

OKAY SO IT TURNS OUT THAT THEY ARE NOT RELEASING THROUGH MY WINDOW TODAY AND THEY HAVE PULLED IT FROM THE SITE UNTIL NEXT WEEK  WHICH WAS THE ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE (THEY'RE HUMAN TOO) SO I'M STILL DOING A CONTEST TODAY BUT NOW IT'S FOR YOUR CHOICE OF THE FOLLOWING TWO BOOKS:


Art of the Lie by Delphine Dryden

Truth & Lies, Book Two


Up-and-coming designer Lindy is going through a lot of changes. A fabulous career opportunity, a big show at a local art gallery and even a promising flirtation with the town’s most eligible bachelor. It’s a lot for a shy, small-town girl to handle. Now if she can just find the time (and nerve) to seduce her sexy neighbor Richard.


Lindy’s wanted Richard since college, and her unrequited crush hasn’t lessened now that they live in neighboring lofts. A wickedly handsome ladies’ man, Richard isn’t boyfriend material. Lindy knows that. But she suspects he’s perfect for the job she has in mind—getting rid of her pesky virginity once and for all.


Or


Alien Best Man by Amy Redwood

When Jana leaves Earth to get married, she discovers that her fiancé has kept a secret. On his planet, the groom isn’t the only one having sex with the bride. It’s the best man’s privilege too. And the best man is someone she knows. And fears.



The best man takes what he wants—and he wants Jana. In his bed, she embraces both males and her darkest desires. And she experiences how pleasurable the use of a riding crop can be when wielded by a dominant alien.


So if you did an entry for Through My Window - I will count your entry towards this contest and let you choose if you want one of these books or if you want to wait till next week for the real release of Through My Window (which I'll be doing another contest for next week)....oy!





Contest Rules




1. Leave an entry below.


2. Please make sure to leave your name and an email address in your entry so that I may contact you if you are a winner.



3. Contest is open to all entries.



4. Contest entries accepted until Midnight on Thursday, 23-Sep-10. The winners to be announced on Friday 24-Sep-10.



5. Two winners will win one ebook copy of the book of their choice.


Good Luck Everyone!




A Contest- Through My Window by Jayne Rylon


Through My Window by Jayne Rylon


Jayne is a part of the International Heat group of authors and is a multi-published author.  She has numerous upcoming books and you should check out her very sexy website.

Through My Window Book Blurb

“Through my window, a sea of strangers swirl and retreat like waves in an ocean of humanity. I brush my hair, fix my makeup and flip on the glaring red light in my booth before turning to face my audience on the other side of the glass.”


For Star, this is another night on the job, though no two are ever alike. Adaptable and perceptive, she becomes many things in the course of one evening—whore, lover, nurse, psychologist and friend. But above all she’s still a woman. Join her, through her window.


Reader Advisory: Novel contains a f/f/m ménage scene.


Contest Rules

1.  To enter you must answer Contest Question.

2.  Please make sure to leave your name and an email address in your entry so that I may contact you if you are a winner.

3.  Contest is open to all entrys.

4.  Contest entries accepted until Midnight on Thursday, 23-Sep-10.  The winners to be announced on Friday 24-Sep-10.

5.  Two winners will win one ebook copy of Ms. Rylon's book.


Contest Question

Which of Ms. Rylon's upcoming books will have a co-author whose first name is Mari?

Good Luck Everyone!

FTC Disclosure:  The prizes being distributed have been purchased by the website.


Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Winners- 1Romance Ebooks Contest



Congratulations To The Winners:

Elaine8
Nancy G.


I will be contacting you ladies later today to provide the gift codes.
Happy Shopping!


FTC Disclosure:  Prizes awarded by 1Romance Ebooks.com

Sunday, September 19, 2010

CONTEST FOR 1ROMANCE EBOOKS GIFT CARDS

I have 2 more Gift Codes for $10 From Jeff At 1Romance Ebooks






Contest Question

What book are you looking forward to the most this fall?

Contest Rules


1.  Answer the contest question.

2.  Please make sure to leave your name and email address so that if you are the winner, you can be contacted.

3.  Contest open to all regardless of location.

4.  Contest open until Midnight on Monday, 20-Sep-10.  Winner to be announced on Tuesday.

5.  Two individuals will win a gift code for $10 each to 1Romance Ebooks

 Good Luck!

FTC Disclosure:  Prizes were supplied by 1Romanceebooks.com

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Looking For A Reviewer or Two




So things have gotten very busy and I'm in need of one or two additional reviewers to assist with this blog. 

If you are interested- please contact me at junegirl63@gmail.com to fill out an application. 


Thanks!

Friday, September 10, 2010

A Review/ Whenever We Meet/ Cerise Deland/ Ellora's Cave
























Title:  Whenever We Meet
Author:  Cerise Deland
Publisher:  Ellora's Cave
Genre:  Contemporary Romance (Branded Line)
eBook ISBN:  978-1419930065
Publication Date:  August 20, 2010
Length:  Novella (PDF 75 Pages)
Format:  eBook only at this time

Purchase


Book Blurb:

Young widow Angela Reynolds doesn’t need a gorgeous older man pursuing her while she asserts her independence professionally and personally. But hotel magnate Stephen Montoya won’t permit this sweet, vibrant beauty to escape him. When he demands she kiss him each time she enters and leaves a room, the two of them discover that some passions cannot be denied—or tamed.


When Stephen asks her to marry him, Angela knows she wants his tantalizing body inside hers for heart-pounding intimacies she’s only imagined. But she’s unsure if she can surrender completely to this dominating man…or give up her new found freedom.

My Review: 

This novella was my introduction to the writing style of Cerise Deland.  It was a fairly fast read and is well written.  The characters were fairly well developed, the dialogue was interesting and the plot moved at a brisk pace. 

Angela Reynolds was an interesting leading lady for this story, she's a modern woman, educated, beautiful and extremely sexy.  She's a talented interior designer and is an up and coming star in her profession. Yet, Angela has two pretty big flaws and they are both in her personal life, she has low self-esteem and has no idea what real love is about.  She's a young widow but her first marriage was challenging to say the least.  She's just taken on a job that could really make her career and finds herself extremely attracted to her client but she's determined to be taken seriously for her professional career so she promises herself that she will not have an affair with the client.

Stephen Montoya is a very successful businessman in Mexico and is building at least two new hotels.  He's determined to create the perfect luxury getaway resorts and hired an interior design company out of Seattle.  The designer that he chooses will have to live in Mexico for a period of time in order to work closely with him, the architect and builders.  He's already turned down two of the more experienced designers that have been sent to him but the minute  he sees Angela, he realizes that she's perfect for the design position and that she is destined to be his.  Stephen is a very dominant man and he's not accustomed to being denied so he's somewhat surprised when he has to convince Angela that she would be the right person for the job.  He doesn't tell her of his personal plans for her.

The interactions between Angela and Stephen were very well written and you can feel the sexual tension between the two characters.  Angela's willingness to deny herself what would clearly be a hot affair in order to keep things on a professional basis was done in a respectful, thoughtful way and was a nice change of pace.  Stephen's willingness to really work through Angela's emotional issues and seduce her in her mind rather than her body was also good.  Ms. Deland developed Stephen in such a way that he is surprised but not appalled when he realizes that while he was seducing Angela, he seduced himself and that he's not willing to be without her and wants a permanent relationship.  The ending was perfect for the storyline.

Overall this is a very enjoyable read and with the exception of one scene which I felt was rushed and poorly choreographed, this is a good addition to the Branded line for this publisher.  I look forward to reading more of Ms. Deland's work.

My Rating:  4 out of 5 Stars


FTC Disclosure:  The book reviewed was purchased by the review site.

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Winner's - Love By Design by Jambrea Jo Jones



Congratulations to the Winners of an ebook copy of Love by Design by Jambrea Jo Jones:

Blanche
Heather B.

I will be contacting you ladies later today to get your book format preference.


FTC Disclosure:  Prizes awarded have been purchased by review site.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Interview and Contest - Love By Design by Jambrea Jo Jones


Love By Design by Jambrea Jo Jones
Publisher:  Total E Bound



Interview

Maria : When did you first know that you could be a writer?


Jambrea :  Well...I wanted to be a writer around the 8th grade. I didn't really think I could be a writer until I got my first acceptance letter.

Maria :  What made you want to be a writer?

Jambrea :  Reading and an active imagination. I always think...what if?

Maria:  Who or what influenced your writing once you began? Do you consider anyone a mentor?

Jambrea:  I think what I read always influences my writing. I really don't think of anyone as a mentor. Not really. But I do have a couple people whom I admire. One would be TA Chase and the other would be Carol Lynne. They are always there when I need a hand or have a question and they are two of the best, in my opinion, m/m writers out there.

 Maria:  What is your favorite quote, by whom, and why?

Jambrea:  Anyone who can only think of one way to spell a word obviously lacks imagination." Mark Twain Um...I like it because Mark Twain is an awesome writer and I can't spell.  I've always said that spell check is my friend, but even he lets me down sometimes. lol

Maria :  What inspires you to write?

 Jambrea :  People, the world around me and music.

 Maria : What is your greatest strength and your greatest weakness as a writer?


Jambrea :  Goodness, I'm quicker with knowing what my weakness is than my strength. I think my greatest weakness is procrastination. And it takes me longer than I think it should for me to write something. Hmm...my strength? Maybe that I'm versatile in what I write? I hope that I have a little something for everyone.

Maria :  Who is your personal favorite author?


Jambrea :  Its a tie. It used to always be TA Chase and it still is, but I've added Carol Lynne. There are plenty more, but those two are the tops.


Maria :  So tell us your latest news.

Jambrea :  My newest release is Love by Design out August 31st from Total e-Bound. I also have a release on Oct. 4th. Total e-Bound is release my story that was in an anthology as a stand alone. I'm very excited about it. I also will have a release soon from Ellora's Cave called Steamy Reunion. I don't have a date for that one yet, but I'm hoping this year. I have a Christmas type story coming out in December from Total e-Bound called Wishing Star and I'm working on a cowboy story for an anthology from Total e-Bound that I'm hoping to get into. It's called A Fistful of Emmett.


Maria :  Why did you choose to write this particular book? What was it's inspiration and is there a particular message you want readers to understand from this book?


Jambrea :  I started writing Love by Design as a contest story. I wanted to do something Sci-Fi and it just took shape from there. The contest was to write a story based on a picture. I ended up added a LOT to this one to make it longer. So the inspiration was the picture. I don't think I have a message. I think if there is one that is for the reader to decide.


Maria:  In conclusion, Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Jambrea:  Here is the blurb and a little unedited excerpt from Love by Design.



Blurb: 


A Soldier can be programmed for war, but what about love?

Zeke Andrews and his band of soldiers volunteered to be experimented on by the government to help protect the world from an invading force of aliens.

Is there more to the programs implants than he thought?

An overwhelming urge fills his soul when he meets an intriguing woman.

Could it be science or love? Cassandra Dawson could have the answers. Is Zeke man enough to find them?



Unedited Excerpt:

 


Zeke Andrews paced his quarters in Rafe Towers, the building that housed the Sentries. It was nice for a barracks and had everything he needed. What was that old saying? If it was needed, it would be issued. That sounded about right.

It was almost time for his guard duty shift, and he was on edge after his meeting. Nothing had happened for weeks, and they were preparing for the worse, afraid this could be the calm before the storm. It seemed as if the Raxioni had gone to ground.

Thomas had said there were rumblings on the magical front that something big was about to happen. Zeke hated how vague the man was, but a Mage couldn’t know everything.

Then he was told he’d have to do field exercises on some new contraction Joseph came up with. He remembered the last debacle. Chuck, the Sentries’ medic, had to be called in to set a few broken bones.

Welcome to my fucked up week. When Joseph had shown the group his ‘flying coat’, Chuck had had the nerve to laugh and tell Zeke he’d prepare a nice bed for him in sick bay. The bastard.

The group had objections to what Zeke really wanted to do. He wanted to go into the streets and root out the aliens. To send them back to where they’d come from.

Zeke stopped in mid-step and went to his closet. The time for contemplation had past. He put on his uniform and made his way to the ammunition's room to pick up his weapon and ‘coat’.

Minutes later, Zeke sat atop Rafe Towers and watched over the city as the sun set. He’d calmed down, the peace of the night seeping in. He didn’t expect any action tonight and was surprised when the tattooed dragon on his shoulder pulsed a warning.

Time to fight, hell yeah.

This was what he’d been made for. His perch on the building lost its appeal with the threat and excitement of danger calling his name. Guard duty usually bored him; he was ready for action. Zeke needed to find the source of the threat. The Mage might be in the lab. He could help with a location spell of some sort. Zeke really had no clue how Thomas did what he did, and he really didn’t care as long as it helped.

The Sentries were equipped with the most hi-tech equipment in the universe, thanks to the scientist who had created them and the Mages who supported them. He turned and headed to the door only to stop at the screeching sound that rose from the street. Seemed as of the Mage wouldn’t be needed after all. The threat presented itself in a woman’s scream. It echoed through Zeke’s body, and he rushed to the ledge to look below.

The woman had rammed her car into one of the Raxioni, but that wasn’t what caught Zeke’s attention. Normally, people ran at the sight of the Raxioni because they were huge hulking brutes who usually carried big swords and weren’t afraid to use them. The woman must be incredibly stupid or incredibly brave. Zeke reserved judgment as the scene unfolded. She stood toe to toe with the Raxioni and yelled something at the beast while her finger jabbed its chest. The monster moved closer to the woman. An attack was imminent. Zeke needed to get in gear before the thing killed her, and he didn’t have time. Shit, he shouldn’t have taken off that damn coat. He raced to the corner to throw the coat back on.

He couldn’t let the woman die. The Raxioni did not tolerate humans at all. Zeke had no idea why this one happened to be on the street alone. They usually travelled in groups to cause chaos.

It must be Zeke’s lucky day because he really didn’t relish taking on a group by himself no matter how much he needed to fight.

The lone Raxioni had to have caused Zeke’s tattoo to pulse its warning. The dragon part of his tattoos always pulsed when the Raxioni were near, a built-in warning system the Mages and scientists had given to each Sentry. The other warnings included an orb to let them know when the planet was under threat and the whole tattoo tingled when Rafe Towers was under attack. The thing had saved his ass a time or two.

Now, it was time to save the woman because it went against his very nature to let a human die. The SE’s were made and trained to protect the innocent. When the creatures landed on Earth, the scientist knew regular military wouldn’t be able to handle the aliens’ brute strength. A super soldier needed to be created. Zeke’s team had volunteered for the experiment and had never looked back. Earth would not fall to the Raxioni. Not if he had anything to stay about it.

No matter how much he wished it was different, he had no time to get his extra gear from the lab. His Sig Sauer P1050 would have to do. Zeke ran and jumped off the seven-storey building. His coat billowed behind him, acting like a small parachute, true to its design. As he drifted down he heard the woman yelling at the beast.

“You killed my sister, you fuck!”


Contest

1.  One copy of "Love By Design" will be given to 2 winners

2.  Please leave a comment below regarding either the interview or the excerpt.

3.  Make sure to include your email address in your post so that I can notify the winner.

4.  Winners to be chosen using Random.Org

5.  Contest will run from Monday, 30-Aug-10 until Noon on Tuesday 31-Aug-10 at which time the winner's will be announced.

6.  Contest open to all entries regardless of location.


Good Luck!

FTC Disclosure:  Prizes to be awarded have been purchased by the review site.

Friday, August 27, 2010

Contest Winner- 1 Romance Ebooks






Congratulations to the Winner:

Nancy G.

I will be contacting Nancy later today with her gift.

FTC Disclosure:  Prize Awarded was donated by 1Romanceebooks.com


Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Contest From 1Romance EBooks

So I love to shop for ebooks and a friend suggested that I try 1Romance EBooks several months ago and I was very happy that I did.  This week's releases include the following:





And




1Romance Ebooks has generously given me a gift certificate/code for $10 for a contest this week. 

Please take a look at their website and see the contest below.


Contest Rules:

1.  Answer the question Who is the "service guy" at 1Romance Ebooks?

2.  Please make sure to include your email address in your post so that you may be contacted if you are the winner.

3.  Contest open to all.

4.  Contest will run from Wednesday, 25-Aug-10 to Midnight on Thursday, 26-Aug-10, with winner being announced on Friday, 27-Aug-10 by noon.

5.  Winner to be chosen using Random.org


Good Luck Everyone!




FTC Disclosure:  Prize being awarded was a gift from 1RomanceEbooks.com


Saturday, August 21, 2010

A New Winner




Congratulations to Morning Glow From Novel Addiction -

I will be contacting you later today to get your format preference.

FTC Disclosure:  Prize awarded was purchased by review site.

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Unclaimed Prize Contest




One of the prize winners from the "Friday I'm In Love" contest didn't claim their prize.  So I am again offering up a copy of the eBook "Friday I'm In Love" to one person.  Just leave a comment below and be sure to include your email address so that I can email you when you win. Contest open until 5 PM CST on Friday 20-Aug-10.  Winner to be chosen using Random.Org

   Good Luck!


FTC Disclosure:  Prize being awarded has been purchased by review site.

Monday, August 16, 2010

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Contest Winners - Friday I'm In Love by Mari Carr


Congratulations to the winners of the ebook copy of "Friday I'm In Love" by Mari Carr:

"T"
Lauren
Valerie

I will be contacting you ladies later today to get your format preference.

Thanks to everyone who commented and to Ms. Carr for her interview.

FTC Disclosure:  Prizes given were purchased by review site.

Friday, August 13, 2010

Author Interview And A Contest- Friday I'm In Love by Mari Carr


Friday I'm in Love - Wild Irish Book 5 by Mari Carr


I've known Mari Carr for about a year now and she's one of my favorite authors.  She is part of the International Heat group of authors and a great person to call a friend.  The fifth book in her Wild Irish series is out today and she graciously agreed to do an interview and help me sponsor a contest.  A total of 3 copies of Friday I'm in Love will be provided, one by Ms. Carr and two by me.  Please read the interview and see the contest rules below.



Interview                                                                                                                   

Maria:  How long does it usually take you to write a book?

Mari :  It varies depending on how long the story is or how well the plot is flowing in my mind. I've written quickies (Rekindled and Spitfire) in a weekend. My novel-length historicals have taken years! Typically, I can write a novella in about a month or two and a short novel in two to three months. That includes beta reads and CP corrections.

Maria: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Mari:  Oh my. Only one? Impossible. My writing has been influenced by so many different people over the years. Early influences included Diana Gabaldon and Stephanie Laurens, as I think is obvious by my first series--the June Girls. When I branched out to erotic stories, I patterned myself after Lora Leigh. These days, I'd really like to try a novel-length contemporary romantic comedy series, like Janet Evanovich. As my reading tastes change...so do my mentors.

Maria:  Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Mari:  Wow--you don't believe in making this easy, do you? I can't possibly choose one, but I think I could narrow it down to about a dozen! I love to read, love all types of books, which lends itself to having lots of favorites. I love the YA fantasies of JK Rowling and Stephenie Meyers. I love that Janet Evanovich can always make me laugh with her stories. I think Jayne Rylon and Lexxie Couper write some of the sexiest books out there.

Maria:  What would you say is your "interesting" writing quirk?

Mari:  I write very, very fast. And I always overwrite. I probably write two novellas just to create one because of the sheer volume of words I put to page and then edit out. I'm the queen of back story--a problem my CPs, Rhian Cahill and JR Patrick as well as my editors have worked very hard to beat out of me. I can say something in 4,000 words that most people can get out in ten! LOL

Maria:  What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Mari:  That I could actually write a book that a publisher would be willing to buy. For years, my writing was just a hobby, just something for me. I have a stack of rejection letters to prove that too! When Immi at Samhain actually emailed to say she liked Erotic Research, I nearly keeled over. Every day since then has been like living a dream.

Maria:  Any other new releases coming out?

Mari:  Well, I actually have lots of cool things on the horizon and I can't wait to scream about them. My Ellora's Cave editor has accepted and contracted Saturday Night Special, book six in the Wild Irish. It's Riley's story and I'd be lying if I didn't say I wrote all the other stories super fast simply because I couldn't wait to get to her book! It's a cross between I Love Lucy and The Hangover and I laughed the entire time I wrote it. Now I just pray everyone else finds it funny! I just received a release date of September 24th.

Then I have two releases coming out in October. On October 4, I'm adding a new publisher to my resume. Do Over will release at Carina Press. I'm super excited about working there. I love the folks I've talked to and I'm so humbled to be able to call myself one of them! I think Do Over is one of the most romantic stories I've ever written because it doesn't take place at the beginning of a relationship, but rather 25 years in! Troy and Faith are celebrating their anniversary with an erotic trip down memory lane!

My other October release is Happy Hour and it will be the next book in the Black and White Collection of wicked fantasies. Happy Hour is a little bit of everything! A red hot menage and cougar relationship all rolled into one.

Maria:  What's next?

Mari:  I have a few projects I'm planning to work on throughout the remainder of the summer and the fall. I'm currently working on the final book in the Wild Irish series, Any Given Sunday. I also have plans for two more stories in the Do Over trilogy. AND...I recently signed four contracts on a series I'm co-writing with Jayne Rylon for Samhain Publishing. It's called the Compass Brothers series and I'm so thrilled to be working with Jayne on these books. She's an amazing writer!


Excerpt of Friday I'm in Love:

“Why are you tired?”

 
She closed her eyes and prayed for patience. This was how conversations with Ewan went. He asked a question, she answered, and then he asked more.

“I was reading a really sexy book last night and spent half the night masturbating with my vibrator. All those amazing orgasms can really take it out of you, you know?” She hoped her smart ass comment would embarrass him, shut him up.

She should have known better.

“Shit, Nat. I wish you would have waited. I’m going to be downstairs from you tonight. I can fuck you a helluva lot better than a lousy piece of plastic.”

She’d been given Tristan’s old room on the third floor to sleep in while she was staying with the family, but sleep didn’t seem to be something she was going to be doing much of, especially not after the sexy seed Ewan had just planted.

“In your dreams, kiddo. I don’t play with children,” she said, although she wasn’t all that concerned that he was younger.

For one thing, he didn’t act young, but she supposed that was because he’d been responsible—along with his sister, Keira—for running the restaurant side of his family’s business since graduating from college. Teagan raved about his management abilities and smooth administration. The fun, sexually explicit banter he engaged in with Natalie seemed to be the exception, rather than the norm, and she got the feeling the rest of his family saw him as serious, responsible, staid.

“Thought you weren’t gonna play the age card again?”

“Old habits die hard.”

“You’re quiet today, distant. Why do I get the feeling it’s more than fatigue?”

“I would think you’d be glad I’m quiet. I mean, it’s not as if there’s ever been any love lost between us. You and I are like—”

He looked so genuinely shocked she stopped mid sentence, the words oil and water dying on her tongue.

“No love lost? I’m crazy about you, Nat. You must know that?”

She laughed. “You really are going to have to give up this schoolboy crush. I’ve been nothing but a bitch to you since day one.”

He grasped her hand and she looked at him in surprise. “I haven’t been a boy in a long time, baby doll. And I’m more than man enough to deal with you and your so-called bitchiness.”

She wished her body hadn’t heard those words. The second he uttered more than man enough, her nipples went on red alert and she was a bit worried about the sudden dampness in her panties. She tried to tug her hand out of his grip, but he refused to relinquish it. “Listen, hotshot—”

“Save it, Nat. Why are you depressed?”

She panicked at his words. “I’m not depressed. I don’t get depressed. Ever.” Her words came out far too loud and she watched him study her face intently. She bit her lower lip, realizing Ewan Collins was far too observant when it came to her. He was also cutting too close to the core. Honesty seemed her best bet. “I’m thirty-four years old and I have fuck-all to show for my life.”

Ewan frowned. “That’s not true. You own and operate an incredibly successful photography studio in Palm Springs. You’re one of the most talented photographers I’ve ever met. Your pictures are beautiful.”

She was taken aback by his praise, surprised he’d seen enough of her work to judge. “How do you know that?”

“I check out your website on occasion, plus Teagan is always emailing us pictures you’ve taken of her and Sky. You have an amazing eye.”

“Yeah, that’s me. The queen of composition, lighting, shading. Sometimes I feel like I’ve spent my entire life behind the lens of a camera.”

Ewan lightly caressed the skin on the back of her neck and she marveled at how comforting the simple gesture was. “You sound like you’re questioning your career choice.”

“Do I?” she asked. “That’s not my intention. I love my job. But sometimes I feel like that’s all there is to me. I’m defined by a freaking camera.”

“That’s not true. I know Sky and Teagan consider you their friend, not their photographer.”

“I know that. It’s just…” She paused, trying to find a way to express the dark thoughts that had been plaguing her since her birthday. “It’s just…I’m never in any of the pictures.”

His eyebrows creased and she knew he was confused by her comment. She tried to clarify. “I’m not really sure what I have to show for my life. Hell, I’m not sure I’ve lived a life. I stand on the sidelines of every event, snapping picture after picture of other people living, celebrating, doing something. God, doing anything.” Her voice betrayed her frustration and she took a breath, tried to calm down when she noticed Tris Collins glance up at her from the bar.

Ewan rubbed her hand, his other arm still draped around her, and she felt wholly surrounded by his presence. “What did you hope to have achieved by now that you haven’t?”

His question caught her off-guard. She’d spent months commiserating over her lost youth, never once thinking about what it was she was grieving. And with one simple question, Ewan had thrown her for a loop…again. “Well, I don’t know exactly. I’ve been to hundreds of weddings, birthday parties, bar mitzvahs, anniversaries. I’ve seen thousands of people celebrating events with loved ones. I’ve never done anything worth celebrating and even if I did, I wouldn’t have anybody to commemorate it with. I know this may come as a surprise to you, but I don’t generally have one of those personalities people flock to.”

“Prickly?” he asked, though she knew his comment wasn’t a question.


“No, not prickly. Strong-willed, self-assured, independent.” She struggled to find those three words.

“Opinionated, arrogant, bitchy. Got it.”

She opened her mouth to lambaste him and then closed it again. He was right. There was no debating the truth.

“Damn,” he muttered. “You are down and out. No snappy comeback, Nat?”

She shook her head.

“I sort of got the impression you were happy on your own. You always say people are an annoyance you don’t have time for.”

She looked around the room briefly, wondering how she always got into these conversations with Ewan. He always made her say too much, tell too many secrets she never intended to reveal. “That’s true. I guess maybe sometimes I think it might be nice to have a friend. Someone normal and not obnoxious. Someone who doesn’t get their feelings easily hurt when I tell them they suck.”

He laughed and she realized her requirements for a friend did sound pretty pathetic. “Isn’t that Sky?” he asked.

“It was—I mean, is. It’s just, he’s got Teagan now and, well…things are different.”

Ewan smiled and she felt a flash of anger spark. Here she was unloading all her misery, confessing things she’d never told another living soul, and he was giving her that stupid, annoying, lopsided grin.

She scowled. “Glad you find this all so funny. Get away from my table.”

He moved closer and she fought to hold on to her annoyance. God, men as handsome as Ewan Collins should be illegal.

“I’m not laughing at you, baby doll. I’m just glad your problem is so easily solved.”

She looked at him, confused. She’d spent months feeling sorry for herself, trying to find a way out of her funk, and nothing had presented itself. Even leaving town for a change of scenery, a change of company hadn’t helped.

She studied Ewan’s confident face and realized that if anyone could solve her problem, it was probably him. Why she felt that way, she couldn’t say. There was simply something deep inside her that said trust him.

“Show me the way.” Her request was softly spoken, but Ewan heard it.

“How long are you staying here?” he asked.

“A week.” It was Saturday afternoon and she had a flight booked to return to Palm Springs early in the morning the following Saturday.

Ewan rubbed his chin thoughtfully. “Seven days. It’s a little tight, but we can manage.”

“Manage what?”

“I’m going to teach you a lesson a day. Seven lessons you can live by so you never feel this way again. You, Natalie Miller, are about to get a life.”


Thanks for the interview Mari!



Contest Rules: 1 eBook Copy of Friday I'm In Love will be awarded to 3 lucky winners.



1.  Answer the question: What is the name of the next book being published in the Wild Irish Series?

2.  Please leave your email address in your reply so that I may contact you if you win.

3.  Contest runs from Friday, 13-Aug-10, through Midnight Saturday, 14-Aug-10.  Winners to be chosen using Random.Org and will be notified on Sunday, 15-Aug-10.

4.  Contest open to ALL entrants Worldwide.



FTC Disclosure:  Prizes being awarded are being provided by author and site owner.