Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Blog Tour & Giveaway for Mastered: 10 Tales of Sensual Surrender


Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour, presented by BMP Tours, for Mastered: 10 Tales of Sensual Surrender by Opal Carew, Portia Da Costa, Madelynne Ellis, Marie Harte, Joey Hill, T.J. Michaels, Kate Pearce, Carrie Ann Ryan, Sasha White, Emily Ryan-Davis and Jennifer Leeland.  Please leave a comment or question for the authors to let them know you stopped by.  You can enter the tour wide giveaway, for a Kindle Fire, by filling out the Rafflecopter form below.

MASTERED: Ten Tales of Sensual Surrender
Contributing Authors:  Opal Carew, Portia Da Costa, Madelynne Ellis, Marie Harte, Joey Hill, T.J. Michaels, Kate Pearce, Carrie Ann Ryan, Sasha White, Emily Ryan-Davis and Jennifer Leeland

Publisher: Uncommonly Romantic Books
Publication Date: 7/21/2014
Print Length: 750 pages
ISBN-13: 9781928115014
ASIN: B00L1HYMSW

Add to Goodreads



About the book: 

Three Secrets by New York Times and USA Today bestseller Opal Carew

Sharing secrets has never been so exhilarating...


Nicole and Abel met in Paris and fell in love, but Nicole believes her secret lifestyle will drive Abel away. After the vacation ends, she decides to take a chance and share her secret, but little does she know he has a secret of his own.



His Secret by International and UK Sunday Times bestseller Portia Da Costa

Quiet storm…

Ben Chambers is the perfect handsome boyfriend. Sarah adores him, yet despite their delicious lovemaking and the fun they share, she senses he has a secret. But then, during a luxury weekend away, one casual pat to her bottom transforms everything, revealing Ben’s thrilling hidden dominance, and a world of decadent pleasure and deeper love.




Remastered by Multi-Award-Winner Madelynne Ellis

A bad experience with a former girlfriend caused Spook Mortensen to repress his sexual urges, but when sound engineer Allegra Hutton is called upon to remaster Black Halo's first album, there's only so much attitude and stubborn refusal to listen to the bands' wishes he can take before he's forced to break his self-imposed vow and take her in hand.



Working Out by USA Today bestseller Marie Harte

When lust turns to love, who’s really on top?

An ex-Marine with a kink for dominance, Mac is Maggie’s boss. But Maggie doesn’t seem to realize he’s in charge…until he shows her that Sir is more than a title. It’s a lifestyle that could suit them both. That’s if Maggie sticks around long enough to wear his collar.




The Scientific Method by bestseller Joey Hill

Mastering her body was easy. Mastering her heart and soul will be an erotic science…


In the vampire-servant relationship, the vampire holds all the power. Being Lord Brian’s research assistant as well as his servant, Debra accepts that, but she craves her Master’s heart. When Brian notices his servant’s unhappiness, he uses methods they both understand to prove just what belonging to him fully means.



Juicy by bestseller T.J. Michaels

Twilight Teahouse ~ Choose something decadent from our menu…
Solie Shaw is a brilliant self-made woman. After managing a corporation by day, at night, all she wants is to not be in charge. The last man she’d gifted her heart to had smashed it to smithereens and then did the mambo on top of the pieces. Now, along comes the chance to get exactly what she needs. All Solie has to do…is choose.



No Limits by USA Today bestseller Kate Pearce

All bets are off when there are no limits…

Dr. Julia Reed deals with life or death situations at a California ER. When British businessman Alex Logan offers her a sexual bargain, she gets to share her darkest fantasies; he gets the power to carry them out. But who is the real winner in this high stakes game, and is Alex even playing fair?



Ink Reunited by USA Today bestseller Carrie Ann Ryan

Only two men can give Sassy the happily ever after she craves.
Rafe, Ian and Sassy loved each other…until it all blew apart. Now both men are back for the woman they love. It will take more than apologies for these three to overcome their history. But once they take that step, the streets of New Orleans will never be the same.


Unfettered: An Overwatch Story by Sasha White

You never forget your first love

Mechanic Ronnie Lang is tired of being "one of the guys". Chasing the fantasy of finding a dominant male to help her explore her sexuality she applies to Overwatch, a private BDSM club where her eyes are opened to a world that’s more than she ever imagined, and the man she’s never forgotten.



Bondage on 34th Street by Emily Ryan-Davis & Jennifer Leeland

In knots over love


After years of searching, Tasha Sears finally finds the Master of her heart …on his knees in front of intimidatingly sexy bondage enthusiast Noah Dreyfuss. As sparks flare between the three, Noah’s ropes will either bind them together or pull them apart. 






BUY LINKS:


Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Virtual Excerpt Tour & Giveaway for Uriel's Fall by Loralie Hall


Welcome to my stop on the Virtual Excerpt Tour, presented by Goddess Fish Promotions, for Uriel’s Fall by Loralei Hall.  Please leave a comment or question for Loralei to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter her tour wide giveaway, for a $15 Amazon GC, by filling out the Rafflecopter form below.  You can also follow the rest of her tour here, the more stops you visit, the better your odds of winning.


Uriel’s Fall
By Loralie Hall
Ubiquity, Book 1

Publisher: Acelette Press
Release Date: June 18, 2014
Genre: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
Length: 215 Pages
ISBN:  9781311181329
ASIN:  B00L3WESHU

Buy Links:  Amazon | B&N | Kobo 

Add to Goodreads



About the book:  

Ronnie has the job any entry-level angel or demon would sell their soul for—she's a retrieval analyst for the largest search engine in the world. Ubiquity is a joint initiative between heaven and hell. Because what better way to track all of humanity's secrets, both good and bad, than direct access to their web browsing habits.

She might appreciate the position a little more if a) she could remember anything about her life before she started working at Ubiquity, b) the damn voice in her head would just shut up already, and c) her boss wasn't a complete dickhead.

As she searches for solutions to the first two issues, and hopes the third will work itself out in performance reviews, she uncovers more petty backstabbing than an episode of Real Housewives, and a conspiracy as old as Lucifer's descent from heaven. On top of all that, if she forgets the cover sheet on her TPS report one more time, she's absolutely going on final written warning.

Now Ronnie’s struggling to keep her sanity and job, while stopping the voice in her head from stealing her life. She almost misses the boredom of data analysis at Ubiquity. Almost.


Excerpt

I couldn’t see Michael, but his voice was low and even and sounded like it was coming from behind me. “Focus on the energy around you.” He trailed his hands down my arms until both blades hung limply at my side. The subtle scent of sunshine and blossoms filled my head, along with the impulse to lean back into him, and the desire to feel his lips along the back of my neck. He stepped closer, chest pressing to my back. It would be so easy to fall into more than training right now. It was so tempting.

His quiet tone wove into my thoughts instead of shattering them. “Concentrate on what belongs to you, what’s brushing your skin; the electricity in the air, not the physical.” The steady rhythm of his breathing was soothing. “Do you feel what I mean?”

“Yes.” I did, intensely and vividly. I almost felt like I was in a trance. I couldn’t remember a time my thoughts had been so calm. I kept my attention on his words and followed each instruction. I wasn’t sure how I was going to fight like this, but the experience was pleasant enough that I didn’t care.

It was too quiet. When had he stopped talking? The air shifted around me. It was so subtle I doubted I would have felt it normally. Like a light breeze caressing my skin, but being so in tune with my surroundings, it was as noticeable as a strong gale. Even as my eyes opened, my right arm shifted up to chest level, and my left rose to cover my gut. I reacted before I could process my own movements, deflecting Michael’s blow with the larger blade, twisting under his arm, and coming to a stop with the wooden dagger resting at his stomach, blade nudging his skin.

I’d done it, giddiness flowed through me. And then the rest of my world came into focus. One of his arms was still held captive above my head, blocked by my sword, and his free hand gripped my other wrist. His gaze locked on mine.

“Just like that,” he whispered.

 AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Loralie Hall is a full time corporate geek and a fuller time writer. Her spouse is her muse and their cats are very much their children. When they’re not spending way too much time gaming, they’re making the world better by vanquishing one fictional evil at a time.



Find Loralie Hall Online






Spotlight & Giveaway for A Matter of Sin by Jess MIchaels


Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!  By Jess Michaels

Hi everyone and a big thanks to Maria for letting me blog here today! You are getting me at the end of what has been a crazy week. The first book in my latest series (The Ladies Book of Pleasures) came out July 15. A Matter of Sin is the title and so the past seven days I’ve been darting from blog to blog, promoting like crazy and hoping the thing will make some sales. LOL

It’s funny, this book is my 44th release in total… my 21st as Jess Michaels. You know what? It’s still just as exciting and terrifying and wonderful every time. Although I do have to say there have been changes in the 10 years since I sold my first book (9 since my first book came out).

First, my writing. When I started, I wrote only historical romance. I had written a couple of erotic pieces under the Jess name, but I was told that kind of stuff wouldn’t sell (HA!) and they asked me to take a new name (Jenna Petersen) and start over. I figured that’s what I would write for the rest of my career. But it wasn’t meant to be. When Avon built its erotic line, they asked me to contribute and Jess was reborn. Not to mention I even dipped my toe into urban fantasy (as Jesse Petersen)! Still, when the opportunity came to write Jess Michaels books after a SECOND hiatus from writing erotic historical, I jumped at it. And here we are. I’m only writing as Jess and only writing erotic historical. Funny how things change!

I also never thought I’d ever consider anything but mainstream traditional publishing. When I started, the only way a writer could have financial or sales success was to sell to one of the big New York publishers. I did but my unhappiness and frustration with the way things worked there grew with every book. At the same time, the industry had begun to change. Sales, money, even making lists was beginning to be possible with small presses and by publishing independently. One of the best things I ever did was take the leap to go smaller. And now I’m on the cusp of doing some indie projects and I’m SO EXCITED to be able to have even more control over my career. This is a wonderful time to be a writer because we have so many choices. And a wonderful time to be a reader, too!

The one thing that hasn’t changed is that I still LOVE writing romance. I still love connecting to my readers. And hopefully that will be true after another 44 books.


Find me online at www.authorjessmichaels.com and I hope you’ll pick up A Matter of Sin, in stores everywhere!


A Matter of Sin
By Jess Michaels
The Lady's Book of Pleasures Series , Book 1

Publisher:  Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Release Date: July 15, 2014
Genre: Erotic Historical Romance
Length: 242 Pages
ISBN: 978-1619219960
ASIN:  B00K5RAA8A

Add to Goodreads

Buy Links:  Amazon | B&N | Kobo | ARe | Samhain

About the book: 

Scandal between the pages…surrender between the sheets.

The Ladies Book of Pleasures, Book 1

The widowed Lady Isabel Avenbury has one remaining younger sister to shepherd into an advantageous marriage, and then she will be free. Free to take a lover to fill her lonely nights—the only option left for a woman on the delicate edge of a certain age. 

Except when she chaperones her sister to a country house party, she is taken aback by her sudden, undeniable attraction to the host. And deliciously scandalized when she finds a copy of the notorious, much-gossiped-about Ladies Book of Pleasures in his library.

When Seth Rowland, Marquis Lyndham, notices his book is missing, his interest is piqued as to which of the potential young brides at his party has absconded with it—and he’s shocked to discover it’s Isabel. Though older than the women he’d planned to court, the powerful beauty exudes a sensuality he cannot ignore.

The book inspires them to begin a desperate, passionate affair. But their time together is running out and they must choose. Follow society’s rules, or take a chance at love.


Product Warnings: 

Found within are highly scandalous books that trigger passionate desires, surrender in the orangery and possibly true love.


Excerpt


Copyright © 2014 Jess Michaels
All rights reserved — a Samhain Publishing, Ltd. publication

Isabel’s palms were slick with sweat as she gripped The Ladies Book of Pleasures. Her heart was pounding too, so loudly that she was amazed she hadn’t woken half the house at this ungodly hour as she crept down the long staircase into the hallway.

In truth, she had waited until close to four in the morning to fulfill this duty for two reasons. One was that she didn’t want to bump into anyone as she had the first night she came here.

Seth, specifically. She didn’t want to bump into Seth.

But the second reason for her slowness was far more shocking. She had wanted to look at the book one last time. To be aroused and relieved by it before she returned it to its rightful place and returned herself to her duties.

So she had done so, dressed, and here she was, standing at the door to the library, ready to return what she had taken and pretend as if none of this silliness had ever happened.

She could only hope Seth would do the same. Tonight, at the gathering after supper, it had been clear he knew someone had taken the book, as did his smirking friend, Lord Northfield. They had been playing at some kind of investigation right there in the drawing room, teasing the person who had taken the item with no thought to their…her feelings.

It was all very ungentlemanly.

Straightening her shoulders, she marched into the library, leaving the door open so there would be a little light from the hallway to serve as her guide. At the table where she had stood the night before, she paused and slipped the book from where she had secreted it away in the folds of her skirts.

Setting it on the tabletop, she stared at the shape of it in the darkness. How she regretted letting it go when she had hardly had the time to fully explore and enjoy it.

When she returned to London, she was going to have to find a way to discreetly obtain a copy of her own. Perhaps Grace could help, since she seemed to know a way around everything and everyone.

With a sigh, she turned to go, but she had not even completed her first step when in the darkness, a figure rose from a chair across the room. The scratch of flint grated on Isabel’s ears and then a candle glowed with light and revealed the person who had found her lurking. Unfortunately, it was the same person who had found her the night before.

Lyndham.

Her heart leapt into her throat and her hands began to shake as he moved toward her, his light lifted as if he was trying to examine her face. The urge to run filled her, to hide her humiliation in her bed and then maybe even return to London where she wouldn’t have to see this man ever again.

In the dimness, the corners of his lips lifted slightly and he smirked at her. Her humiliation, which had burned so hotly, faded as she looked at his smug countenance. It was instantly replaced by another emotion: irritation.

She folded her arms as he came to a stop just a step away from her.

“My lord,” she said, pleased that her tone could be so icy.

His smirk broadened. “My lady. We are making a habit of these late night rendezvous.”

She didn’t move, even though he had leaned closer as he spoke and his voice was rough and seductive. Her anger faded, but she forced it back to the surface.

“Indeed,” she said, perhaps less forcefully than she would have liked. “But I assure you this will be the last time we shall meet like this.”

One dark brow arched and he tilted his head slightly. “Oh? That is a true disappointment. But as you say this is the last time we shall do this, it would be ungentlemanly of me not to offer you some assistance tonight. Is there something you were looking for? Something you need?”

She swallowed. Had he moved closer again? He seemed larger now, and her treacherous mind was determined to flash to all the fantasies she had indulged in while she read that dratted book. Why oh why had she allowed herself to think of this man? Now he was a distraction of the highest order.

With a shake of her head, Isabel attempted focus once more. She had to recall that the marquis was taunting her in a most impolite fashion. He wanted her to be all twisted up and nervous; he was somehow enjoying seeing her squirm. Only she had one way to turn the tables and perhaps make him do the same. One way to defuse his power over her. A way Grace would be most proud of.

She lifted her gaze and met his, almost overpowered by the way the light caught in his bright, blue eyes. Dear God, he was beautiful.

But no…focus! She had to focus.

“Oh no, sir,” she said, her tone gaining strength with each word. “I have fulfilled my purpose in coming here tonight. There is nothing I require.”

“Your purpose?” he asked with a chuckle in his tone. “And what was that?”

She reached behind her and found the copy of The Ladies Book of Pleasures on the table. Lifting it, she said, “Why, I was returning your book, Lord Lyndham.” She held it out to him, and he took it with his wide eyes. “You seemed to be in quite a bad way about it tonight when you and Lord Northfield were going on and on about it. I assumed that meant you missed it.”

He didn’t speak, but stared down at first the book and then toward her. She smiled. Good. She had shocked him by admitting what he was so ruthlessly teasing her about.

“Oh,” he finally said after what seemed like eternity had passed with nothing but stunned silence between them.

She shrugged, starting to enjoy her own brand of torture just as much as he had apparently enjoyed his earlier. “It is the talk of the ton, my lord. I had to know what all the fuss was about.”

Once again, he was silent. In fact, his only response to her statement was to set the book back down on the table where she had retrieved it. His eyes never left her, his gaze never lost any focus.

And the triumph Isabel had felt in shocking him began to fade. He seemed so stunned now that she was beginning to doubt herself. Perhaps he hadn’t believed her to be the culprit after all. Perhaps he was not shocked by her boldness, but by her inappropriateness.

If that was true, she might have just made the biggest mistake of her life. And Serena’s.

She swallowed. “I-I hope you will not judge my sister poorly because of my outrageous behavior, Lord Lyndham.”

This time she was certain he moved closer. His chest nearly touched hers and heat radiated from him, washing over her.

“My lady,” he whispered, his voice even rougher now that it was soft. “I assure you, the last thing I was thinking about in this moment was your sister.”

Isabel gasped at the implication of those words and realized that the sharp intake of breath was the first one she had taken in quite some time. Her hands and knees began to shake.

This situation was spiraling out of control, and she had to exit from it immediately.

“I-I should—”

She stepped back, but he caught her wrist and held her where she stood. “Wait…wait… Why did you take the book? It was something more than just mere curiosity, wasn’t it?”

Isabel turned her face. To her surprise, humiliation did not return, but the heat in her cheeks did. She couldn’t tell this man, this near stranger, that!

“I don’t know,” she said, tugging on her wrist to free herself.

He let her go immediately, but stepped in her way so that she couldn’t flee the room. “You must know.”

She wanted to look up at him, but feared that doing so would allow him to see everything she was fighting so hard to hide. Her longing. Her loneliness. Her desires.

So she didn’t look at him as she whispered, “My lord, please—”

“Isabel,” he murmured.

Her eyes lifted in surprise. The previous night she thought he might have used her given name, but there was no denying it this time. And she loved hearing it roll from his tongue. He said it like he was savoring a sweet treat, like it was a precious word.

She stared at him as he stared through her, into her very soul. She didn’t want to tell him her secret, she didn’t want to say why she had taken the naughty book, but something compelled her to reveal herself. There was some odd, intense connection between them despite their utter inappropriateness for each other.

“I-I took it because it has been a long time and I—” She heard her voice making the terrible confession and she cut herself off and dipped her chin down in embarrassment.

Suddenly she felt the rough slide of his fingers on her skin as he cupped her chin and urged her to look back up at him. Urged her to meet his gaze, which seemed so intense and yet so gentle and nonjudgmental now.

“Tell me,” he insisted.

She sucked in a sobbing breath. “I wanted to remember desire and pleasure and—”

She had more to say, more depths of her soul to mine, but he didn’t allow it. Without preamble, he bent his head and suddenly his mouth was on hers.

For the first few seconds of the unexpected kiss, Isabel was too surprised to react. Her mind raced, overwhelmed by questions and denials and fears about what exactly was happening to her.

But then Seth’s lips shifted ever so slightly, his tongue traced the crease of her mouth, and that subtle movement changed everything.

Isabel melted. She’d heard others describe a kiss that melted them before, but this was the first time she’d ever experienced it personally. It was as if her bones liquefied, her blood burned, her muscles vanished and all that was left was feeling. Pleasure washed over her so intensely that it overrode anything else in her mind.

Without meaning to, Isabel lifted her hands, tightening her fingers around Seth’s upper arms and leaning into him to get more. More of this feeling, more of his taste and his scent as their bodies brushed against each other.  

About the Author: 
 Jess Michaels began writing full-time in 1999 after being encouraged by her husband to follow her dream. In 2003, she sold her first novella to Red Sage Press, an erotic historical romance about an Egyptian tomb and a very sexy curse. Since then she has published (or has contracted to publish) nearly 50 novels and novellas under three different pen names with several major publishers, small presses and via self-publishing. Her erotic historical romances have been national bestsellers and won awards from booksellers and readers.


She and her awesome husband live in Tucson where she enjoys playing video games, exploring the beautiful desert, spending time with her nephews, reading and spending petting her two old lady cats.

Jess Michaels always loves to hear from readers! You can email me,  

In addition, I’m very active on both Facebook and Twitter, so be sure to follow me on one or both from the links provided here! And sign up for my newsletter to be the first to know when I have a new release out.

To find out more about Jess Michaels writing historical romance as Jenna Petersen go here.

To find out more about Jess Michaels writing snarky urban fantasy as Jesse Petersen go here.



Monday, July 28, 2014

Virtual Book Tour & Giveaway for Chaperoning Paris by Victoria Pinder


Welcome to my stop on the Virtual Book Tour, presented by Reading Addiction Book Tours, for Chaperoning Paris by Victoria Pinder.  Please leave a comment or question for Victoria to let her know you stopped by.  You can enter her tour wide giveaway by filling out the Rafflecopter form below.  You can also follow the rest of the tour here, the more stops you visit, the better your odds of winning.  My review is pending.


Chaperoning Paris
By Victoria Pinder
Collins Brothers, Book 1

Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Release Date: June 11, 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: 220 Pages

Add to Goodreads

Buy Link:  Amazon


About the book: 

Gigi Dumont never forgot how she walked away from the only man she ever loved.

She’s a teacher who has led her students to the finals of an international French competition to be help in Paris. The night before the trip, the Principal tries to cancel the trip before he, in turn, loses his job to her high school boyfriend, Sean Collins.

Sean Collins has survived cancer, a divorce , and Gigi having aborted their child back in high school. He assumed he’d hate her, if they ever crossed paths again. But he discovers she’s exactly what he wants.

When Gigi and Sean are stuck together for a week in Paris, Gigi feels she has lost all her control. How can she survive her attraction to Sean? The man’s sexier now than he was back in the day, and once upon a time, he’d had her heart. She finds herself falling for him, even knowing forever is impossible.



Excerpt


Payback time. Standing in his mother’s kitchen, Sean Collins smiled as he hung up the phone.

He hovered at the phone for a moment, then charged along the carpeted hallway to his bedroom. In a flash, he changed from his T-shirt and jeans into his black pin stripe king-of-the-business-world suit complete with black tie and shiny black shoes.

Finished dressing, Sean jittered at the door and listened to his son talking nonstop to his mother upstairs. His skin tingled and he closed his eyes. At least moving to his parents’ country estate where he had grown up on Cape Cod had been good for everyone.

Breakfast could wait. He grabbed the keys on the counter downstairs, and he called upstairs, “I’m leaving. I won’t be gone long.”

Last year, the school principal had fired him with bogus charges. Sean had sworn on every holy book that he’d been fired because his doctors had discovered cancer in a routine physical exam.

The sickness sucked. But he’d survived. And now he used his vast wealth to get what he wanted. No teacher should be treated so callously. He had taken the job at the time to prove to himself he had more choices than being the chief financial officer of his father’s corporation.

He set his jaw and walked outside to his car, where the smell of freshly cut grass hit his senses.

The moment he stepped outside and headed toward the garage, Sean stared at the vast forested area on the property for a moment and pressed his lips together. Trees made sense. Women never had. His luck with women had been bad from the start. His first girlfriend, Gigi Dumont, had left him for parts unknown, and then later his wife, now his ex, Jennifer, had also left. She’d played with a whole set of loose scruples. But Jennifer hadn’t hurt him, not like Gigi had. Sean rolled his shoulders. Why did everything in his life always seem to go back to Gigi leaving?

He fished out his keys from his pocket. And now Gigi had moved back into the house next door.

Sean opened the garage door. A quick click of a button and the gate lifted.

Last night he hadn’t slept. Today his shoulders were straight. This moment had nothing to do with women and everything to do with justice. His fingers traced the shiny finish of his brother Gerard’s Aston Martin. Without blinking, he opted to borrow the car. He’d be early and outshine everyone else. Gerard had offered to loan it to him specifically for today. Sean licked his lips and turned the key, igniting the engine, and took off.

A daydream flashed in his eyes. Principal Murray’s jaw dropped to the ground in shock the second Sean stepped inside the office with the papers.

Sean clutched the wheel. He intended to twist the knife even further. People like Mr. Murray gave businessmen around the world the reputation of cold, heartless automatons, especially when he claimed the firing had been over “job performance.” Every one of Sean’s students had passed the state assessments.

Now, Sean ran the finances for his parents, his father’s company, and his brothers. The support of his family to get him through cancer treatments had been phenomenal, but what if he hadn’t had that support? What if he’d had no money to pay for treatments? He’d be dead because the principal had fired him due to the insurance increases. Well, now Sean had a better solution.

He sped down the country road for the half-hour trip. During his horrible marriage to Jennifer, he’d worked as a teacher, and his students had achieved both academic and social successes. Jennifer had been the nightmare that drove Sean away from Collins Industries, Collins Enterprises, Collins Investments, and Collins Mutual, to list a few of his father’s multiple companies. Post divorce and cancer, Sean had made the decision to offer employees packages in cases of sickness. Anyone who worked for him would now receive a payoff equal to the job performance done over the years as part of a settlement. Money paid hospital bills.

Sean’s stomach clenched as he gazed at the sign for the Barnstable Charter High School parking lot. Sean parked Gerard’s fancy lawyer wheels that screamed “out to impress” right next to the about-to-be-sacked principal’s BMW sedan. The Aston Martin made the perfect goodbye gesture. Murray had been outclassed.

Sean leaned forward in his seat, refusing to feel guilty. He waited for the school bell to ring and watched students bounding outside.

Unlike most people, his family had money, and normally he wouldn’t like flaunting wealth. His Jeep Wrangler suited him just fine, but today he needed to look like the elite businessman he was. He stepped out a minute later, and in a fast walk, he strode down the halls. Sean winked the second he saw the school guard’s shocked face.

“You had cancer?” asked the older African American lady who coached the wrestling team.

“Yes, I did. I’m better now,” Sean said, smiling.

He inclined his head and passed the security desk then Sean turned right toward the principal’s office.

In his briefcase he carried the school board’s ruling and the proof of sale of the school to Collins Enterprises. Barnstable was a private school that followed school board law. The sale to his company had been finalized, but Sean had insisted on telling Murray in person. The minutes of the meeting would be posted at one that day. Victory waited for him, and justice tasted better than homemade chocolate chip cookies.

In the office, the overqualified secretary, Mattie, dropped her pencil on the floor. Sean made eye contact with her and the older woman smiled back. Then he picked up the pencil in stride, and handed it back to her. She opened her mouth to speak, and he shook his head, placing his finger over his lips to silently request her silence.

She smiled her response and swiveled her chair back to her computer.

He had seen Mattie in action and understood the older woman had known how to treat people more than anyone else in the office.

Outside the principal’s door, Sean straightened his tie into perfect alignment. His heart rate sped up and his entire body became alert then he heard her voice.

Gigi, or should he say, Giovanna Dumont. Her quiet, sweet voice unmanned him, making his palms sweat. Why would she be here? And how could she still steal his breath away?
Victoria Pinder
Victoria Pinder grew up in Irish Catholic Boston before moving to the Miami sun. She’s worked in engineering, after passing many tests proving how easy Math came to her. Then hating her life at the age of twenty four, she decided to go to law school. Four years later, after passing the bar and practicing very little, she realized that she hates the practice of law. She refused to one day turn 50 and realize she had nothing but her career and hours at a desk. After realizing she needed change, she became a high school teacher. Teaching is rewarding, but writing is a passion.

During all this time, she always wrote stories to entertain herself or calm down. Her parents are practical minded people demanding a job, and Victoria spent too many years living other people’s dreams, but when she sat down to see what skill she had that matched what she enjoyed doing, writing became so obvious. The middle school year book when someone wrote in it that one day she’d be a writer made sense when she turned thirty.

Besides her full time job of teaching, in 2013 and 2014, she sold on her own sold books to three different publishers. The Zoastra Affair, Chaperoning Paris, Borrowing the Doctor, and Electing Love will be published from Soul mate Publishing. Mything the Throne will be published with Double Dragon Ebooks. Favorite Coffee, Favorite Crush will be published with Jupiter Press.

Now she is represented by Dawn Dowdle of Blue Ridge Literary Agency and she hopes to continue selling her novels that she writes. Moving up to the next level from hard work and determination is rewarding, and partnerships bring new opportunities.

She’s also the Vice President of Programs for the Florida Romance Writers. She’s gone to multiple conferences and intends to continue. She learns and meets so many people at conferences. Her website is www.victoriapinder.com, and she’ll continue to grow my web presence. She is working hard on other projects and found the time to plan her wedding this year.

Before writing, her father had taken her to many star trek conventions and on her own she grew up as the only girl in the 90s at the comic book store. Science Fiction was her first love, but contemporary romance was her second. She’s sticking with contemporaries for the near future.

Member of Florida Romance Writers, Contemporary Romance, Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal chapter of RWA, Celtic Hearts and Savvy Authors.