Friday, June 29, 2012

Entangled Publishing's New Line - Dead Sexy Books - And a Contest



Entangled Publishing has begun a new line - Dead Sexy Books - check out their web page and enter their contest for a Nook Single Touch below!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Beginnings and Friday 56 - One Man Advantage by Kelly Jamieson



Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader. To play along, please do the following:

  • Share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments below.
  • Make sure to share the name of the book and the author so we know what you are reading.
  • Feel free to share your first impressions with us based on the first line.
  • Link your post at Rose City Reader, or if you don't have a blog, leave it in the comments below.

The book currently on the Kindle is One Man Advantage by Kelly Jamieson.









"I guess she’s working her way through the team one by one. It’d be faster just to have a gang bang.” Cody Burrell, defenseman for the Minneapolis Caribou, smirked at the ESPN reporter who’d just asked him how he felt about his ex-girlfriend dating one of his teammates.

My Thoughts on this:  Only takes about two words - Dead Man!  Anyone who would have this lack of respect for someone else's feelings and even for themselves to say something like this is without a doubt a king sized jerk and a moron to boot!  Clearly this is a man who wants to meet up with a frying pan upside the head...lol








The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda at Freda's Voice. To play along:

  • Grab the book closest to you, any book will do.
  • Turn to page 56.
  • Choose the fifth (5th) sentence or a few more (just don't spoil it too much).
  • Post is on your blog, or if you don't have a blog, post it in the comments below.
  • Link your post to Freda's Voice.
My Friday 56 is also from One Man Advantage by Kelly Jamieson:

He had every intention of trying to convince her to spend the evening with him when they’d finished their condo shopping, but if that didn’t work out—like if she had another date, goddammit—he needed a plan B. He found himself arranging to meet a bunch of the guys at a downtown bar they assured him was a happening place.


My thoughts on this:  If you are really interested in a woman, why oh why would you go look to see what else is happening around town.  Yeah, I'm not too thrilled with this guy either...lol




After her ex trashes her reputation in front of the media and it quickly goes viral, Nicole vows she’ll never get involved with another hockey player. Too bad her job with the Minneapolis Caribou puts her in contact with sexy hockey players on a daily basis, including the newly traded center, Logan Heller.

Logan’s pretty sure Nicole is the perfect woman for him and he’s determined to have her—in and out of bed. Nicole is equally determined to never date another hockey player. But Logan has a one-man advantage…he knows what she really wants.


 

So what are you Friday Book Beginnings and Friday 56? Please play along and if you decide to follow my blog, let me know in the comments and I'll return the favor.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Review - Codename Autumn by Aubrey Ross


Title:  Codename Autumn
Author: Aubrey Ross
Publisher: Ellora's Cave Publishing
Series Name: Undercover Embassy, Book 1 
Publication Date: May 30, 2012
eBook ISBN: 978-1-419940-66-8
Genre: Futuristic/Sci-Fi, Interracial
Heat Level: Scorching Hot, oral & anal sex 


From the Publisher: 

Undercover Embassy, Book One

In a future where women have few choices, Autumn fears she’ll never again know the pleasure of a man’s touch. Then General Ra’jen Noirte rescues her from a whipping gone wrong. The sexy alien captivates her, reawaking dormant desires. On the surface he radiates deadly aggression, but Autumn has glimpsed his tormented soul. Though he commands the occupation army, she suspects they have similar goals.


Ra’jen returns from combat to find a woman bound, abused and abandoned. His healing touch soon turns to hunger as she stirs beneath his hands. With milk-white skin and flame-red hair, Autumn tempts him to abandon his responsibilities and indulge long-neglected needs. Every kiss, every caress distracts from his mission, and the fate of Earth depends on his success. More than love is on the line as they form an uneasy alliance and fight their mutual enemies.


Reader Advisory: Contains brief depictions of prostitution which some readers may find objectionable.

Publisher’s Note: This story was previously published under the title Codename Courtesan: Autumn, and has been revised for Ellora’s Cave.


My Review: 

Codename Autumn is an interesting blend of futuristic science fiction with an interracial romance between an Earthling and a humanoid belonging to an alien race.  In this story, Earth as we know it no longer exists and has become an occupied planet being stripped of it's natural resources by the invading Gathosian race.  Men and women both work in mining areas under supervision and very few avenues of employment and existence are left to women.  They can either work in the mines, where they face the real possibility of rape, work as breeders in reproductive centers or work as an "ambassador", government sanctioned and controlled prostitutes.

At the beginning of the story we meet Autumn, a young beautiful woman who has just become an ambassador and agreed to be the "whipping girl" for the night so that she could avoid having sex with a stranger.  She wasn't counting on being beaten to a pulp by a jealous trainer who deliberately got carried away.  She also wasn't counting on being rescued by General Ra'jen Noirte, the military head of the planet, an alien from a different planet.

General Ra'jen Noirte hasn't been with a woman in a long time and never thought he'd be attracted to a human female.  A military leader from another planet conquered by the Gathosians, he's secretly working to free the planet Earth from their conquerors.  He'll have to find couriers he can trust to carry messages and eventually find a way to liberate everyone from an addictive compound they are all being forced to consume.  He never planned on becoming attached to an "ambassador" or on using her to recruit other spies.

Overall this is a very hot story, with lots of hot smexy times and an interesting plot.  I was disappointed in the world building because we really don't get to know as much about the conquering Gathosians as I would have liked and there is at least one scene that was a bit squeamish for me - but there is the publishers warning about that.  As the first book in a series, it's a good start and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

My Rating:  4 out of 5 Stars 



FTC Disclosure: Book reviewed was purchased by review site.






Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Help Under the Covers Achieve 1,000 Followers on Facebook






My blogger friend, Francesca, over at Under the Covers book blog is almost at 1,000 followers (likes) on Facebook.  She has an awesome giveaway going on at her site.  

You should go check it out!

Waiting On Wednesday - Casanova in Training by Aliyah Burke



"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which highlights upcoming release we are eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is Casanova in Training by Aliyah Burke.




Casanova in Training (In Aeternum, Book 1)
by Aliyah Burke
Release Date: July 9, 2012
Publisher: Total-e-Bound Publishing

About Casanova in Training:

Book one in the In Aeternum Series

A woman who is all about rules and a man who lives to break them, their scorching passion threatens all they hold dear. Can they find a way to have it all?

Lieutenant Commander Giovanni 'Casanova' Cassano is a top test pilot for the military, and is the epitome of an ace. Cocky, arrogant, handsome, and true to his call sign. His best friend's death brings a new pilot to his squadron—a woman. That's not even the real reason it's hard—she's the one who left an indelible imprint on his soul after a twenty—four hour rendezvous. Now she seems to have ice in her veins, not the fiery passion he knows rages beneath the surface.

Jaydee 'Dusti' Amos is following orders, and this time they have landed her at a test facility. She's there to ascertain what caused the deadly B—2 crash. The situation becomes harder once she discovers who is stationed there—the one man she never believed she'd see again after their impulsive and passionate encounter. He pulls her focus from the job at hand and tends to make her break the stringent rules she lives her life by.

They work together to unveil the truth and the feelings between them deepen. But there is a traitor in their midst. Will the fallout tear them apart, or will Gio find some way to convince Jaydee to give him a chance at forever?

Reader Advisory: This book is part of a series but can be read as a stand alone and in any order.



Why I'm Waiting For This Book:


I've read several books by this author before and I've enjoyed them.  Ms. Burke has a knack for writing characters you can fall in love with and great Alpha heroes.  She also writes realistic interracial romances and doesn't shy away from tackling problems facing interracial couples today.


What's your "waiting on" pick this week?

Want to play along? Just post your WoW entry on your blog and leave your link at Breaking the Spine and below.


Sunday, June 24, 2012

KALLYPSO MASTER'S PERFECT BLOG TOUR



Hello everyone! Please join me in welcoming Kallypso Master's Perfect Blog Tour to Queen of the Night Reviews today. Starting June 20, Kallypso has been taking us on an adventure filled with interviews, guest posts, excerpts, and giveaways with a $10 Gift Card Daily prize and a Grand Prize of a $200 GC, each to the bookseller of your choice (selected from Amazon, B&N, Smashwords, or All Romance Ebooks). Each day, you will have a chance to enter in the grand prize drawing, too, using a special form, so don't miss a day! Come join the fun!

On my stop we get another exclusive excerpt from Nobody's Perfect (Unedited): 


“Why are you here? How did you find me?”



She lowered her head. How to answer those questions without getting the door slammed in her face? “I looked at the next of kin info in Teresa’s file.” She didn't want to implicate Anita in the breach of confidentiality. “We need your help.”



“We?”



She turned and glanced again at the car. When she turned back, she saw that he followed her gaze. Time to talk. Savi removed the glasses.



Damián's nostrils flared and his eyes became narrowed slits. She fought hard not to back away. She couldn't let him know that his angry response scared her to death. She needed him to help her, terrified or not.



“Who hit you?”



“I can’t say, but we need a place to hide out for a while, until I can figure out what to do.”



“Marisol? Is she okay?”



Savi nodded. “She’s asleep in the car. We drove day and night. I was afraid to fly or stay in motels. I didn’t want to leave a trail.”



He scanned the parking lot. “Look, that car’s going to get cold PDQ. Why don’t you get Marisol and come inside to warm up?”



She held her arm to her side, hearing the husky quality that entered her voice, “I can’t lift her.”



His gaze raked over her body, assessing her. “Give me your keys. I’ll get her.”



She hesitated a moment. You have to trust him. You can't do this alone. Then another blast of cold air hit her in the face and took her breath away. She looked down at the parking lot and pulled the keys out of her jacket pocket. “Follow me.”



“No. You don’t need to be going up and down those stairs. You look like you’re about to keel over. Just tell me which car.”



“The light blue Nissan.” She pointed to her sedan parked under the light.



“Go sit down. I’ll be right back.”



Like hell. She watched him walk back down the stairs, holding onto the rail, and walk across the lot to the car. Using the remote, the headlights flashed as he unlocked the doors and opened the back door. Gently he lifted her baby into his arms and made his way back up the stairs carefully, one hand on Mari and one on the railing. Seeing him with her daughter made her think she'd made the right decision to come here.



At the top of the stairs he looked up to find Savi waited for him. He didn't seem pleased that she hadn't gone inside as he'd asked her. Ordered her to, more like it. Well, she didn't take orders from any man anymore. Besides, she had needed to be sure Mari was safe.



Savi fell into step beside him and opened the door for them. Once inside, she locked the door.



He turned to whisper to her, “help me get her into bed. Then we’ll talk.” Damián led the way across the living room and stood beside what must be the bedroom door, which Savi opened for him. A blast of cold air hit them. Was there any heat in there? The living room had seemed wonderfully warm after being outside, but this room was freezing.



The bed was made and Savi pulled down the Mexican-Indian designed comforter and watched as he laid Mari’s head so carefully on the pillow. Then he guided her legs onto the bed. When he reached to remove her shoes, Savi grabbed his hands.



“No! I’ll do that.”



Holding up his hands, he backed off. While she unlaced the sneakers, Damián walked over to the wall near the doorway and adjusted the thermostat. She decided to leave Mari's jacket on for added warmth.



He whispered, “It’ll warm up in here in no time.”



Savi pulled the comforter and sheet over her baby and bent down to kiss her.



Sleep well, love. You're safe for now.



Savi stood and turned, wincing as her lungs constricted. She held her hand to her side again before noticing she'd attracted unwanted attention from Damián. She forced her hand back to her side. He motioned for her to lead the way into the living room. When he started to close the door, she placed her hand over his. “No!” Realizing she'd overreacted, she shrugged slightly. Now she'd have to explain what was going on. But how much could she tell him? “Mari might wake up and be frightened to find herself in a strange bed.”



He nodded.



He turned and went into the living room. “Can I get you a Coke, beer, tea, or something?”



She remembered a similar offer at Teresa's house in Solana Beach. “No Kool-Aid?” She smiled, then caught herself. What had come over her? This was no time for teasing.



“Sorry. When the munchkins aren’t around, I prefer beer.” He grinned.



“A Coke sounds good. I need to keep my wits about me.”



He went to the fridge and pulled out a can of Coke. “Glass and ice?”



“No. The can’s fine.”



He handed it to her and she popped the top. “Let me take your jacket.”



“No, I’m fine. I’ll just keep it on.”



He didn't look like he believed her about being fine, but motioned for her to have a seat on the sofa. He sat down at the other end and reached over to pick up an open bottle of Dos Equis he’d obviously been drinking before she'd arrived.



His gaze targeted her. “Who hit you?”



Savi wasn't sure where to start. She lifted the soda to her lips and tipped her head back, drinking long and slow, then lowered the can again and stared at it a moment, tracing a fingernail around the rim.



“Was it your husband?”



Her what? She looked up, brows furrowed, then shook her head. “I’m not married.” What had made him think otherwise?



“I have a friend who was a corpsman—a medic—in Iraq. Will you let him check out your injuries?”



No way. She squared her shoulders and sat up a little straighter, willing herself not to show any sign of discomfort or her inability to breathe deeply. “What injuries?”



“Well, there’s the black eye, swelling, bruising on your face. You’ve also been favoring your left side. Did he hit you there, too?”



She sagged against the sofa. “It’s nothing.”



“Let my friend be the judge of that.”



She hadn't come here seeking medical help. She needed protection for her daughter. “I’m not leaving Mari.”



“Who said anything about leaving? He’ll come over here if I ask him.”



“No. The fewer people who know I’m here, the better.”



“Who are you running from, Savannah?”





Wasn't that  great excerpt!  You can follow the rest of the stops here.



Saturday, June 23, 2012

SHARING MY FAVORITE BOOK GIVEAWAY HOP - JUNE 24-30,2012






Sharing My Favorite Read Giveaway Hop is being hosted by Nat at Reading-Romances.com. A big Thank you to her, my fellow bloggers, authors and publishers who signed up to host a giveaway for this event. Thank you for participating and being super ready to HOP! I hope you’re as excited as I am today. Because this is taking place during my birthday week - I will be giving away two of my favorite eBooks from this year. Just fill out the Rafflecopter form below.

Prize Choice 1: Cynful by Dana Marie Bell

To save the woman he loves, he must push his gifts to the brink.

Halle Shifters, Book 2

Julian DuCharme, a rare Spirit Bear with legendary healing powers, is finally free from the threat of death, finally free to claim his mate—but she’s not having it. While his Bear screams it’s time to mate, the love of his life wants to date.

Holding his Bear in check while convincing her he’s not out to control her won’t be easy. She’s stubborn and a closeted geek—in other words, perfect for him.

Cynthia “Cyn” Reyes, owner of Living Art Tattoos, thinks Julian is the hottest thing on two legs. That doesn’t mean she’s going to roll over for his masculine charm. She watched her mother flounder when her father passed away, and she’s determined to never lose herself to someone else. Not even a man who would jump the moon for her, if she asked that of him.

When the women of Living Art are targeted by a killer, Julian doesn’t think twice about pouring out his last drop of power to keep Cyn safe. But it’s Cyn who’ll give up everything—her independence, even her humanity—to keep a terrifying vision from coming true.

One of his death.


Product WarningsThis novel contains explicit sex, graphic language, a tattooed heroine and the Bear who loves her. Maybe he’ll finally convince her to tattoo him with “Property of Cyn”.


Prize 2 - Drive Me Crazy by Jenna Bayley-Burke 

The quickest way to love isn’t always a straight line.

This was supposed to be Xavier Moreau’s long-awaited vacation. A few precious weeks away from his over-scheduled career to see the America his mother loved and still make it to his best friend’s wedding in time. Instead, he’s ferrying the bridezilla’s sister to the nuptials. The luscious Jaime Cruz makes his mouth water, but her near-frenzy to get to Oregon now would scrape on his last nerve—if he didn’t sense that she needs the break as much as he does.

Fresh off a teaching assignment in D.C., Jaime’s white-knuckling it. She’s got only three weeks to get home, find a job and a place to live, and ensure her sister’s big day comes off without a hitch. Except Xavier tosses her three-days-or-bust itinerary out the window. Even more annoying, Jaime finds herself succumbing to his relentless determination to make sure she enjoys every minute of the trip. And falling under the spell of his sizzling touch.

Three weeks and three thousand miles later, Jaime’s feet are on home ground, but her heart is pulling her in a completely unexpected direction. Toward Xavier and a new journey that will require the ultimate leap of faith.


Product Warnings: Caution! Dangerous curves ahead. Do not enter if you might be spooked by haunted hotels, embarrassed by sex in the great outdoors, or fear you might yield to a devastating Frenchman willing to drive you to distraction.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don't forget to visit the other blogs in the hop.  You can follow them here.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Book Beginnings and Friday 56 - The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean


Book Beginnings is a weekly meme hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader. To play along, please do the following:

  • Share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments. 
  • Make sure to share the name of the book and the author so we know what you're reading. 
  • Feel free to share your first impressions with us based on the first line. 
  • Link your post at Rose City Reader, or if you don't have a blog, leave it in the comments below. 

My choice this week for Book Beginnings and Friday 56 is The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean, her novella prequel to the Secret McQueen series.



As a general rule, people don’t like to date monsters.
I don’t mean in a my ex-boyfriend was such an asshole, he was a total monster to my friends or that girl was a monster bitch kind of way. What I mean is, ask your average New Yorker if they’d like to have a girlfriend whose primary source of food was human blood, and most of them will say no.

My thoughts: This is already off to a funny start. I may have thought some of my dates were montsers but I get the feeling I'm going to find out differently...lol



The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda at Freda's Voice. To play along:
  • Grab the book closest to you, any book will do.

  • Turn to page 56.

  • Choose the fifth (5th) sentence or a few more (just don't spoil it too much).
  • Post it on your blog, or if you don't have a blog, post it in the comments below.

My 56 is also from The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean:

I sighed, thinking of my family’s definition of togetherness—in general it involved them poring over an old, moldering text while I looked on in irritation. It was not what I wanted in a marriage, though I supposed at my age I could not afford to be particular. In December I would be twenty-seven years old, an age my sister Sarah assured me was positively ancient. “But I am spoken for.”

My Thoughts:  I'm afraid Secret's sister would think I am a walking corpse since I'm not married and I'm definitely over 27....lol

About The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters by Sierra Dean:

Are blind dates supposed to be this bloody?

A Secret McQueen story

They say it's impossible to find a man in New York City. Secret McQueen needs to find two in one night. Of course, it’ll mean pulling off the impossible—find and kill a displaced rogue vampire without disrupting the first promising date she’s had in ages. As a werewolf hybrid used to walking a fine line of survival in the vampire world, though, Secret eats impossible for breakfast.

Somewhere between hello and the first round of drinks, Secret makes her move. Her target, Hollywood’s biggest star, shouldn’t be hard to spot. Just look for swarms of fans. Except every time her vampire liaison, Holden, helps keep her mission on track, her date runs further off the rails.

Either Holden has a hidden agenda, or he knows more than he’s letting on about her quarry. One way or another, Secret is determined to get her man, and meet Mr. Right. Or die trying.

Product Warnings

This book contains a sword-wielding assassin whose barbs are sharper than her blade, a vampire with serious brooding issues but a skilled tongue, and an A-lister with a bad habit of eating his fans. This novella takes place approximately one year prior to the events of Something Secret This Way Comes.




So what are you Friday Book Beginnings and Friday 56? Please play along and if you decide to follow my blog, let me know in the comments and I'll return the favor.

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday - Into The Lyon's Den by Rita Bay



"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which highlights upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is Into The Lyon's Den by Rita Bay.





Into The Lyon's Den
by Rita Bay
Release Date: August 2012, Champagne Book Group

About Into The Lyon's Den:


Wealthy recluse Anthony Lyons offers a mint to lure Marie Maxwell, Atlanta’s most sought-after event planner, to coordinate a wedding and reception for a “very special couple” on his isolated estate in the mountains of North Carolina.

Despite her sophisticated veneer, Marie’s a tough street-smart orphan without a past. Adopted by the owners of the elegant Hotel Maxwell, she’s been raised in the business. Known for her uncanny ability to “make things go right,” Marie accepts the challenge of planning a wedding for 200 guests in 10 days.

Marie soon discovers that an absent bride and groom is the least of her problems. Her arrogant and exasperating employer displays far too much interest in her and her personal life, especially her lost years. Confronted with a vengeful stalker, two thwarted murder attempts, and dark shadows from her shrouded past, she finds allies in an amorous feline of some unknown species and the mysterious Lady Bat. But who’s got it in for her? And what’s with Anthony and all the cats?


Why I'm Waiting on Into The Lyon's Den:

I'm looking forward to this book for a couple of reasons.  I'm a huge fan of shapeshifter books, the cover just yells "Buy Me" and I've never tried this author before.  Something about the blurb draws me in too....maybe the idea of Marie's lost years - oh and the fact we share a first name (though her's is the French version and mine is the Spanish).

What's your "waiting on" pick this week?


Want to play along? Just post your WoW entry on your blog and leave your link at Breaking the Spine and below.

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Happy Father's Day 2012



Fathers are Wonderful People

Fathers are wonderful people
Too little understood, 
And we do not sing their praises
As often as we should... 

For, somehow, Father seems to be
The man who pays the bills, 
While Mother binds up little hurts
And nurses all our ills... 

And Father struggles daily
To live up to "HIS IMAGE"
As protector and provider
And "hero or the scrimmage"...

And perhaps that is the reason
We sometimes get the notion, 
That Fathers are not subject
To the thing we call emotion, 

But if you look inside Dad's heart, 
Where no one else can see
You'll find he's sentimental
And as "soft" as he can be... 

But he's so busy every day
In the grueling race of life, 
He leaves the sentimental stuff
To his partner and his wife... 

But Fathers are just WONDERFUL
In a million different ways, 
And they merit loving compliments
And accolade of praise, 

For the only reason Dad aspires
To fortune and success
Is to make the family proud of him
And to bring them happiness... 

And like OUR HEAVENLY FATHER, 
He's a guardian and a guide, 
Someone that we can count on
To be ALWAYS ON OUR SIDE. 

by Helen Steiner Rice 

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday - Rolling in the Deep by Cathryn Cade

"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which highlights upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is Rolling in the Deep by Cathryn Cade:







Rolling in the Deep
by Cathryn Cade
Publication Date: July 31, 2012

About Rolling in the Deep: 


Desire as deep and dark as the sea…danger as close as a heartbeat.

Hawaiian Heroes, Book 2


Daniel Ho'omalu’s intimidating physique, tribal tattoos and mane of black braids frighten most women before they get close enough to discover he likes to play rough. Pile on his perilous vocation as one of a secret society of island guardians, and he’s painfully aware he may never find a mate.


One look at Daniel, and Claire Hunter knows she’s found the man of her sensual dreams. Without hesitation she sinks her teeth into the challenge of landing the big Hawaiian in her bed. But while he clearly wants her, he won’t bite back.


Daniel is certain the beautiful haole is too young and innocent to handle his dark sexual needs. Despite their determination to ignore each other, the island casts its spell, and in one explosive night, Daniel learns that Claire is more than a match for him in every way.


When Daniel must leave her side and dive to the depths of the sea to foil a gang of drug smugglers, Claire trusts that their powerful bond will bring her lover back safely to her arms. But his vow of honor to protect his people could be the one thing that breaks her heart.



Product Warnings: Big, hot, tattooed Hawaiian hero who likes it rough—in bed and on the beach. Going deep takes on a whole new meaning in this tropical heat wave.

 




What's your "waiting on" pick this week?

Want to play along? Just post your WoW entry on your blog and leave your link at
Breaking the Spine and below.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Teaser Tuesday - The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by A.N. Roquelaure







Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
This week my Teaser Tuesday is from an older book published back in 1983, The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by A.N. Roquelaure (aka Anne Rice), which a friend loaned me to read because she knew I wanted to see if I would like it.  This is not for the faint of heart:)








From Page 86:

     "Very good, my dear, you are learning already.  Never answer such a question as that.  It could be taken as a complaint if you did".  


About The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty:

In the traditional folktale of "Sleeping Beauty," the spell cast upon the lovely young princess and everyone in her castle can only be broken by the kiss of a Prince. It is an ancient story, one that originally emerged from and still deeply disturbs the mind's unconscious. Now Anne Rice, writing as A.N. Roquelaure, retells the Beauty story and probes the unspoken implications of this lush, suggestive tale by exploring its undeniable connection to sexual desire. Here the Prince awakens Beauty, not with a kiss, but with sexual initiation. His reward for ending the hundred years of enchantment is Beauty's complete and total enslavement to him . . . as Anne Rice explores the world of erotic yearning and fantasy in a classic that becomes, with her skillful pen, a compelling experience. Readers of Fifty Shades of Grey will indulge in Rice’s deft storytelling and imaginative eroticism, a sure-to-be classic for years to come.









PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!

Monday, June 11, 2012

Guest Review - Your's To Take by Joely Sue Burkhart




Publication Date: May 8, 2012
ISBN: 978-1-60928-680-4
Genre: Contemporary BDSM
Length: 194 Pages 
Series: The Connagher's, Book 3
Reviewer: Nancy G. 


Today, I'm pleased to have guest reviewer, Nancy G. from My Odd Little World with her review of Joely Sue Burkhart's "Yours To Take", the third book in her "Connagher's" series.  

Blurb from the Publisher:


All fire and gunpowder need is a stray spark…

The day one of her old clients gunned down a cop, former defense attorney Vicki Connagher lost everything—her passion for justice, and her lover, Detective Elias Reyes. The dead cop’s partner.

Even though she’s following her dream to start her own fashion line, it’s tough with heartache as her only companion. Until she brings Jesse, a wandering street artist, in from a freak Texas snowstorm. His submissive flirting brings out dominant tendencies she never knew she possessed, yet she hesitates to let him take her as far and as hard as she wants to go.

Some homeless junkie in Vicki’s house? Not on Elias’s watch. Pride kept him away, but as long as Jesse is staying in Vicki’s downstairs shop, he’s staying with Vicki. On the couch, but it’s a start.

As the days go by, the three work out an uneasy alliance. But Vicki’s joy at having Elias back in her life is tempered with a growing desire to have it all. Elias in her bed, and Jesse under her command. The only question remaining is if her tough alpha cop is willing to embrace all that she is…



Product Warnings: Explicit sex, BDSM, a tough alpha cop, a reluctant Domme, and a smoldering submissive street artist willing to do anything to belong to her.


Nancy's Review:

Yours to Take is the third book about the Connagher family: a family filled with dominant personalities and desires. This is younger sister Vicki’s story, and it is a delicious and sexy story of discovery and passion. Vicki knows her two brothers are into the BDSM scene; her brother Victor runs the hottest cable network around and lives the lifestyle openly. What Vicki never expected was to be going to her brothers for advice and guidance in her own love life. She knew she liked things a bit rough, but never realized she had the Dom tendencies…until Jesse falls into her carefully order life. All Jesse wants is for Vicki to take control-he’s loved her from afar and just wants a chance to be near her. Her former lover, Elias Reyes, is every bit as dominant as Vicki, but can he accept what she wants; both Jesse and him?


Joely sue Burkhart has a talent for creating worlds that suck you in and make you feel like part of the story. This story is no different, and I felt like I was seeing and feeling everything Vicki was at times. The characters in this are strong and well written and the interaction is fully believable throughout the story. I enjoyed watching as Vicki discovered who she really was and what she wanted, and I liked that both of the men in her life were able to accept her for who she was. Elias was the challenge here, and I was delighted when he proved to be secure enough in his own feelings to give Vicki what she needed and not just walk away from it all.


I enjoyed going back and seeing a bit of what was happening with the rest of the Connaghers as well. I find the family to be a very strong and well developed group, and have enjoyed each story as they’ve come out. I hope that Ms. Burkhart will continue to tell more about this decidedly strong and sensual family, maybe going back to the roots and showing where it all began. Until that day, I’ll just enjoy what has been written, and recommend Yours to Take for all those who like their romance on the biting edge.





Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday - Misplaced Princess (Foreign Affairs 1)


"Waiting on" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine which highlights upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is Misplaced Princess (Foreign Affairs, Book 1) by Mari Carr and Lexxie Couper.




Author: Mari Carr and Lexxie Couper
Release Date: June 20, 2012

About Misplaced Princess:

Annie Prince has impetuously flown halfway 'round the world to visit a sexy cowboy she met online--only to find herself stranded in Sydney. Seems she and Dylan crossed wires, and he's on his way to New York. His twin, Hunter, saves the day and whisks her back to the family cattle station. Hunter's as easy on the eyes as Dylan, and even easier to talk to. Annie might have flown to Oz to meet one brother, but soon sparks are flying with the other.

Hunter considered Dylan a dumb arse for jetting off to America for some stranger--until he met Annie. Turns out the New Yorker is a smart, funny, hard-working jillaroo...and hotter than the Aussie desert. Hunter's not normally one to poach his brother's women, but he can't keep his hands, lips, tongue and other body parts off this sexy city girl.

When raging lust leads to emotional attachment, where does that leave Annie and Hunter when her vacation comes to an end--or when Dylan finds out?



What's your "waiting on" pick this week?


Want to play along? Just post your WoW entry on your blog and leave your link at Breaking the Spine and below.

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Winner - Memorial Day Patriotic Earrings




And the Winner chosen via Random.org

Taryn@mysecretromance



Teaser Tuesday - True Mates: Claiming Shayla


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read 
  • Open to a random page 
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!) 
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
This week my Teaser Tuesday is from True Mates: Claiming Shayla by Zena Wynn 



From Page 65:

     "A legend? Come on," she scoffed.  Turning to Connor, she said, "Don't get me wrong.  You're one of my favorite peeps in the world, but a legend?"  She shook her head and chucked.

About True Mates: Claiming Shayla


Six weeks ago, Shayla Morgan, geek extraordinaire, fled the tiny mountain town of Refuge NC as though the hounds of hell – or one horny werewolf –were on her tail. Now the time has come to return for her cousin’s wedding and pay the piper in the form of one determined, red-haired wolf-shifter who believes she’s his mate.

After the hell of his childhood, Rory McFelan, alpha of the Sparrowhawks, determined never to mate or reproduce. That was before the Creator dropped one feisty, irritating human female with a scent his wolf wouldn’t let him ignore into his path right before a blue moon. In the few short days it took the blue moon to wane, Rory found himself mated with a pup on the way, and his mate gone.

Getting her back is the easy part. Keeping her is more difficult. He’ll have to fight demons – his and hers – his pack, her family, and an unknown enemy determined to destroy him, any way they can.

Claiming Shayla was instinct. It’s keeping her that’s proving to be a challenge.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!